You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daily Birding 📷 145 - (Special Edition) - My Journey Here

Now there's a great introduction! Always good to know some more of the people I've follow, and although being a recent one (follower and platform user) I can see we share a few interests, although I dont birdwatch as much as I used to :) If I can add just one suggestion: consider using also scientific names of the birds in your posts! Oh, and If you travel abroad and do some birding (well, probably usefull in your home country too!), Cornell has a smartphone app called Merlin that is simply amazing to help identify the species! Only found it recently, and it was a HUGE help in identifying what I saw in my last trip to Costa Rica. All the best, congrats on the new family member... and looking forward to keep reading your posts!

Sort:  

Good suggestion. I'll try to do add scientific names to my posts too. I know local bird names vary with language and country, and that steemit is an international community. I'll keep in mind Merlin when I travel too. I've enjoyed keeping my birding blog on Steemit and hearing from people like you is cool. Good birding.

Scientifics help a lot, I remember a long time ago, soon after I started birding, I met some people from the UK on a ringing station, and If it werent for the scientific names I wouldn't know which birds they saw :) And they remove the problem of different common names in different countries, it's an unniversal language. Well, or it can just be my geeky scientifical side! Do try Merlin, tell me if you find it valuable. I loved the app!

Thank you @pardinus! I honestly can't tell you why I hadn't included the scientific names before, I will definitely start doing that! I've used the Merlin app on and off, it can be helpful, especially in new areas. I will add that to my birding resources list I routinely post. :) Thanks for your suggestions!

How are you liking Steemit so far?

Glad you liked them! As for steemit, it has been surprising me in a good way; it's helping me remember a ton of places and situations as I'm browsing my photos to post, and stimulates me to research while posting, great for learning and relearning. And starting to interact with the steemit community, I'm discovering a lot of very friendly and talented people in areas that I love, so... looking forward to keep growing here!

That's great! Community interaction is a huge part of being successful here, and it is fun and fulfilling. :) I'm not always as active in that as I feel I should be, but I try to do what I can. Speaking of, I highlighted you in @thedailysneak which was posted yesterday. You will be sponsored for a share in @steembasicincome to help support your work. :)

I just saw it! Don't know if I deserve the honour... but thank you very much! It feels great to see the posts are appreciated! Heard about the steembasicincome, but still dunno what it is, will look into it too! Looking forward to see those birds ;)

No problem :)
The FAQ is on the bottom of every @steembasicincome post. I suggest you check out the discord channel under #start-here. We have been working on being truly universal by branching out into other language communities, and have a Portuguese FAQ which you can find pinned in the #portuguese room. :) https://discordapp.com/invite/WWUNapu

Will look into it for sure! And thank you again for all the support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69450.75
ETH 3678.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81