Eastern Black Swallowtail Butterfly & Hibiscus • Papa-Pepper Combo Photo

in #animalphotography6 years ago

Eastern Black Swallowtail Butterfly & Hibiscus • Papa-Pepper Combo Photo

IMG_0058.jpg

Unprepared

I was riding through the park this morning when the chain fell off my bicycle. I flipped it over and started to put the chain back on when a beautiful swallowtail butterfly flew by and landed near some hibiscus flowers.

IMG_0070.jpg

Music To My Ears

Lucky for me I was listening to music on my iPhone so I already had a camera in my pocket. The butterfly was very patient and allowed me to get very close shots with the iPhone. When she finally took off, I realized that I had some great shots but no proof photo.

IMG_0075.jpg

Greased

I attempted to write my name on the palm of my hand with grease I had collected on my fingertips from messing with the bicycle chain. It didn't work at all but just looked like a smeared greasy mess... which it was!

fidel-fernando-537764-unsplash.jpg
Photo by Fidel Fernando on Unsplash

Poetic License

Just then a little bird landed on my shoulder with a twig in its mouth and a light bulb went off. Scroll down to see the results...

IMG_0079.jpg

Proof of Twigs!

IMG_0076.jpg

Thank you little birdie for sharing the twigs!

I photographed the butterfly and twigs with my iPhone 6S Plus.

Join the contest here: Papa-Pepper's Combination Photography Contest

Thank you @papa-pepper for creating the contest!


U5dssCqyQ8N9j5ewV5rAaNKA8Pqykev_1680x8400.png

Thanks for the art @overkillcoin... minnows, dolphins, whales... I’m down with squid!

Sort:  

Great combination photograph @otage. Very creative photo proof. 😁

Excellent pictures. butterfly photography is great can be seen with details their shape and handling of the approach.

Thank you!

Lovely markings on that beauty - good write up "Proof of twigs" - Thanks for the heads up on the contest. Gonna check it out!

It was a fine specimen and a lucky break with the bike chain!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-31T21:05:45
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1579.89/1600.00
Total Photos: 221
Total comments: 61
Total contest wins: 3
And have also received a 0.76 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by otage from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55400.25
ETH 2294.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33