Wild long eared owl into Sunset backlight

in #animalphotography6 years ago (edited)

Long eared owl
Canon 7D Sigma 300-800mm photographed from car.

A gracious Long eared owl perched and posing in front of my mobile hide.

I knew a place where we have a pair of Long eared Owls coming for the breading season. Those owl are not active during daytime. When they become active mostly the darkness sets.
During the breeding season the little chicks do want their meal. When mom stays with her nest, dad goes out for a hunt.

In our region it is a special thing to watch them hunt because they do not hunt during daytime or early evening. They are very similar to a shor eared owl in flight.

I followed a pair for several seasons. A few hours before sunset (with much luck) those chicks start to cry for their food. Dad has to go out and catch some mice or whatever prey he can find. So majestic to see them fly.

When waiting in my mobile hide (car) this owl chose a perch before starting the hunt.

I noticed the owl always came back for the same perches. But very surprised as i was this time the owl chose a perch into full backlight. Look @ him eyeballing me. This was so amazing and i never tought that day i would of make such an image.

Wildlife photography is full of surprizes when you least expect it.

Thank you for watching.

Sort:  

Hi @olivierc! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.02 SBD @tipU from @dreemsteem :)

I've already commented and upvoted.... but now I have a new service that I'd like to use for you! :) It's small but it's in addition to the low worth of my vote! hahahaha I hope that it's just the beginning of more to come for you and your beautiful work! :) tip!

Good afternoon. This is much appreciated thank you for this gentle gesture. Awesome man !

you're very welcome!!! :)
..... I TRY to be awesome.... but an awesome woman ;) hahahahaa

thx so much you awesome woman. Lol !

hehehehehe :)

WoW amazing photography

thx so much. I'm very pleased to share this image with you.

Beautiful bird and great composition! Very good work man!
Cheers!

Thx so much. It was quite a surprise framing this kind of image. i'm very happy with this one.

He is DEFINITELY posing for you!!!! What a beautiful shot! You are definitely the photographer heheheheh :)

Good photo
Upvoted me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51