Animal Photography: Butterflies & Flowers

in #animalphotography6 years ago (edited)


I definitely spent some time patiently waiting for butterflies to land on flowers today during my visit to Marie Selby Gardens in Sarasota, FL. The park is adjacent to Sarasota Bay so there's almost always at least a bit of a sea breeze coming off the water. Some storms were brewing just offshore so winds were higher than usual making it difficult for these fragile creatures to land on a flower and pollinate.

The smell was quite horrendous near the water since that coast is still dealing with Red Tide issues in the water. Thankfully it was not too bad while exploring the gardens unless you walked out towards the water on one of the few docks or boardwalks.

I saw a ton of butterflies in one area near the water but the wind wasn't allowing them to land. One of the last sections of the park I explored had a big building blocking wind and there were a bunch of them fluttering around. After exercising my patience to it's full capacity, I was able to snap a few somewhat focused shots...the small amount of wind whipping around the building was making it difficult.
photos captured with Canon 80D/18-135mm

Thanks for stopping by!

follow me @liberty-minded




#thealliance #steemusa
until next time...

Sort:  

NIce shots! Those swallowtails can be pretty tough. At least up here in Minnesota, they don't like to stop flapping their wings, even when on a flower!

The red tide doesn't sound fun. We heard about it on the radio way up here in Minnesota. Does the water still appear red? Has it killed a lot of fish? Lake Superior is having algae problems, too, this year.

You might like the 100mm macro Canon has. I almost always see one on Craigslist (or Facebook Marketplace, now) for $300 or less. Just a thought.

thanks bud, they certainly rarely stop flapping those colorful wings for sure, had to up (way up) my shutter to even come close to a decent shot.

Only when it's REALLY BAD does it look red, thankfully it's diminishing along the coasts of central Florida finally....I haven't been fishing in Tampa Bay or the Gulf for a while because of it.

I'm definitely looking into a macro lens I'd be happy with....the Canon ES 50mm I have isn't that great....honestly think I get better focus on my 18-135 than that thing...thanks for the suggestion

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79