Daily Birding 📷 141

Red-tailed Hawk assaulted by a Red-winged Blackbird



P1090757e.jpg


@dennisauburn inspired me to share this birding experience I had last year. I went on a trip during the Great Salt Lake Birding Festival. It was a long day of birding and we stopped many places, sometimes getting off the bus, sometimes just stopping for a minute to enjoy whatever birds were on the way.

With my binocular photography, I was barely able to catch this through the bus windows. There is a Red-tailed Hawk feasting in a field and there is a Red-winged blackbird determinedly pestering it! Despite the attacks, the Red-tailed Hawk did not seem overly bothered and continued with its meal.

Red-winged blackbirds are not shy when it comes to defending territory and going after other birds that aggravate them in some way. I have seen them in this area harassing ravens in flight.

These photographs are not the best quality but birding isn't about getting the best photograph. Sometimes it is better to simply enjoy the moment or to be happy with what you are able to capture. This was a unique moment in my birding experiences and though I would have loved better photos, I am grateful for these captures.


P1090820e.jpg


P1090801e.jpg


P1090797e.jpg


P1090834e.jpg



LocationHyrum, Utah USA
CameraPanasonic Lumix DMC-SZ7
LensThrough Nikon Monarch M511 8x42 Binoculars

My SteemitWorldmap Locations

@originalworks

Sort:  

You just planted 0.23 tree(s)!


Thanks to @josephsavage

We have planted already 4501.37 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 24924.21
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-22T03:33:48
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 824.59/1600.00
Total Photos: 120
Total comments: 26
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 1.60 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Watching for "mob" scenes is a good way to find raptors and owls. If you see several crows, jays, blackbirds, or even small birds like chickadees or nuthatches all hyper-excited and "mobbing" a tree, look for the appropriate sized raptor, or sometimes just a crow or jay. It's a good way to find owls in the daytime, look for crows and jays mobbing them to drive them away. Chickadees or small birds may "mob" a crow, or better yet a Northern Pygmy-owl or Saw-whet Owl. Always investigate a mob scene while birding.

Indeed. :) I haven't seen the smaller birds mobbing before but I'm always on the lookout for their noises for anything unusual. I'm hoping I will have energy later this summer to get out to new-to-me places and discover more, but right now I don't remember what energy is... So I visit what is close and familiar and mostly just sit and watch.

Wow that red winged black bird has some "seeds" huh!
Amazing how small animals can be oblivious to their own vulnerabilities but I guess instinct overrides that. Actually that makes sense - any parent would defend their young regardless of their chances of success.

Yeah, he is pretty crazy. But the hawk has food and seemed not bothered enough to retaliate. Predators and prey often share spaces that are close and still both carry on. I've seen a hummingbird go after a small raptor a few years back. They are not shy.

Little guys are fierce! I share the same dilemma, I love to photograph these moments, but it´s normally better just to hang on to the binoculars and enjoy the show!

It is a difficult choice. I noticed myself getting frustrated learning my new camera and not enjoying birding as much anymore. I dialed it back to more auto settings and have been happier. I'll learn a little more slowly and still enjoy my time. :)

Same here... first, binoculars on and enjoy the view! If the bird is acting photogenic... then I´ll get my camera ;)

Lol, that reminds me of when I used to take photographs through my binoculars. I would get things in focus and lined up and then the bird would move. Start over! :)

Ahaha been there too!

You take photos through binoculars too? :)

Tried it too, and digiscoping. Never was a fan though. And since I like to watch more than photograph, I got a bridge machine with 50x optical zoom... and it's just amazing! That way I don't need to carry hardcore photographic equipment and I can still take great zoom photos. Of course, the quality isn't the same; but that way I can conciliate birdwhatching and photography... works for me :)

That's awesome that you found what works. :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=katysavage
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=daily-birding-141


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @katysavage! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Very cool pictures! I love the bright red flashes of their wings, but they are hard to catch. I think of hawks of being all powerful and being able to do what they want - but with blackbirds, mockingbirds and crows all giving them shit all the time, sometimes I wonder how they survive.

lol. They make due. It is easier to harass a predator with a full stomach lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63459.73
ETH 2599.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78