Birds In Motion

in #animalphotography6 years ago (edited)

Capturing flying birds is a tricky one as they move so fast! Recently I have been attempting just that.

To do this I turn the shutter speed up to between 1000-2000. The aperture varies between 3.5 to 5 because it closes as I zoom and the ISO depends on how sunny it is that day.

One of the struggles I have when trying to capture a bird, is that sometimes your camera decides to focus on the clouds behind the bird or the bird flies so fast you completely miss it. Another common problem I have is when zooming in to try and capture the bird close up, I end up doing this strange camera dance in order to find the bird in the air.

I do now finally have a collection of flying birds. It's mostly the big slow ones that I'm able to capture, but some are the little speedy birds. These ones are some of the Australian natives.

Ibis

DSC_0811.jpg

DSC_0804.JPG

DSC_0813.JPG

DSC_0784.JPG

DSC_0994.JPG

DSC_0995.JPG

DSC_0996.JPG

Sulphur-Crested Cockatoo

DSC_1016.jpg

Rainbow Lorikeet

DSC_1108.JPG

Australian Magpie

DSC_0542.JPG

DSC_0682.JPG

Heron

DSC_0679.JPG

DSC_0680.jpg

Sort:  

Needs more Sulfur-crested Cockatoo.

Actually I just realised on closer inspection that the corella was, in fact, a Sulphur-crested Cockatoo. Your kind must be masters at disguise!

Brilliant photos, @izzydawn. I can imagine how difficult it must be to capture stills of a bird in motion, and you're right, they are specially fast. But you've captured them perfectly, and in a lot of stages, flying, about to take off. All being perfect.

Great work!

Thank you :)

Beautifully captured photos of a variety of birds. I also like capturing birds in flight and to find it difficult but getting better at it. Although I still, miss some moments. I particularly like when the wings are out when on land, you have some very nice ones of that position. Well done

Thank you :)

A very difficult skill you seemed to have mastered. Thanks for sharing

I love how the one Rainbow Lorikeet has color to it and the others are more sedate. I do not have a good enough camera to catch photos like these, but it is sure nice to browse through them here. You certainly have some wonderful subjects!

Great work, i have also to leave an up for you :-)

I can image that this is very difficult to shot, because of the high movement, so thanks that you bring us some wonderful photos.

The Rainbow Lorikeet looks very interessting. A very colorful bird.

Greetings ✌️😀

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you.
We have some amazing birds in Australia!

I was up trying to shoot some flying birds today and totally failed haha. Btw which lens are you using to do it? Good closeup.

I'm using an 18-200mm zoom lens, but it helps when the birds aren't too terrified of people and are not the really small fast ones!

I didn't realize there were so many issues involved in capturing flying birds. Wildlife photographers in National Geographic or the Discovery Channel make it look like a walk in the park. Kudos on getting your shots. It's always nice to see wildlife pictures from other places.

Thank you. I have heard that people who photograph for things like the Discovery channel and National Geographic can spend weeks trying to get good shots. I think it will be a while before I can reach that standard.

You captured beautiful pictures, nonetheless. The picture of the Ibis is my favorite. I like how you got the bird's wingspan completely. And it looks like the clouds cooperated here, too. No distractions on that front.

I had always wondered how those beautiful flying bird shots were taken, didn't know how but I definitely knew that it wasn't easy to capture them.

I love the different varieties of bird. Some, I haven't seen or heard of before. But they are really all beautiful and you captured them well. I especially love the Australian Magpie...

Thanks.
The Australian magpie can be a very friendly or protective bird there have been a few people who raised some of the chicks and the adult will stay with the owner.

You got some really good, clear shots there. Nicely done!

Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.26
ETH 2583.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80