Word of the day “Proud” - Jerry Braving Water

in #animalphotography6 years ago (edited)

0052A3CA-5B28-4D6A-A1BA-054A24DC0468.jpeg

Jerry did so well at the Hole In The Wall, didn’t quite get him to swim but he was walking through the creek without fear. He is a hard dog to photograph, I need to be paying attention and take pictures on the fly to capture him facing my direction. In this shot Melissa “parked” Jerry by putting his leash on his back then stepped just out of frame and pointed up getting Jerry to look that direction, worked out awesome.

I think in this photo Jerry looks proud of himself, not feeling fearful of the water surrounding him. I am so proud of him, Jerry did the trek through the Hole In The Wall all on his own. I had to help Jerry make the first jump into the entrance of the hole, sketchy rock face, other then a little encouragement and grabbing his harness to brace him it was all under his own power. The last time we were here Jerry took himself swimming, he had underestimated how deep the pool was and I had to jump in to save him as he started to panic. We know he can swim but really does not enjoy it as he just gets so scared starting to splash around.

When ever we pull the body harness out for him he knows we are going for a serious walk and perks right up. We use the harness so if there is need to pull him up an embankment or out of the water it can simply be done by the handle on his back instead of choking him with his collar. Jerry seems to enjoy getting dressed up for our walk, I imagine in his mind it’s the same as when I toss on my backpack with all our gear.

We haven’t quite got Jerry swimming but he is getting more comfortable by the water. When we first got him he wouldn’t even step into a puddle, he would pull and freak out trying to go around.

Watch for my next video to see how now he will brave crossing the water even in an area that is just past his normal depth of comfort. Man do I love this GoPro, way easier then my iPhone for pictures and video and I don’t have to fear dropping it in the water making for some awesome shots. I also have a shot from underwater of us jumping from rock to rock. GoPro and be your own hero 😉.

Thats it @d00k13 OUT

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!?!?

Follow @d00k13 if you wish to join my journey!

  • If you wish to help, Power please! Anything else will be converted.

Join us #OneLoveDtube Discord Server

Join The #OneLoveDTube Curation Trail, Earn Rewards!

Check Out Partiko Discord Server

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Nice posting

Thanks 🙏

Posted using Partiko iOS

I followed and up votes you. please followback @huanmv

Thank you for the follow up vote 😉

Posted using Partiko iOS

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-30T15:43:39
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 611.55/200.00
Total Photos: 94
Total comments: 2
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

Not sure what happened to my first picture but it’s updated now

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69715.93
ETH 3772.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77