Animalphotography Contest by @julianksteemCreated with Sketch.

A few years ago we visited the Kruger National Park in South Africa. We came across this elephant wandering around all by himself. He was curious about us so he came "far too close for comfort" to our car. It was a very dry season as you can see by the dead foliage around and the elephant had just "bathed" himself in the red dust. It was a very unnerving experience, to say the least, but I managed to get a nice close-up photo.

DSCN0028ab.jpg

www.viewbug.com%2Fmember%2FClaudiaZ (1).jpg

Thank you @juliank for creating this #animalphotography contest and I hope you all enjoyed the photo, See you soon.

Sort:  

The photograph is great and this makes me miss the elephant in the local zoo in Lahore. Her name was Suzi and she passed away 2 years back. My son was so upset on her passing away. To this day, he recalls her and cries.

thank you, I can imagine for a little child that would be very upsetting.

What a beautiful specimen! :)

he was, but a little to close for my liking! lol

Nice picture you have there of the elephant.

@seyiodus.
#hug-challenge

I'm glad that your story ended with just nice closeup :) I herd stories about elephants becoming angry and attacking convoys in conditions like those.

I know that's why I was not too happy about him approaching! and he was alone which sometimes makes them grumpy and they are more prone to do silly things. Thanks for your comment @dejan.vuckovic

Wow!! What an incredible animal. I would love to get to see an elephant someday. This world contains the most wondrous things and I would love to see it all really. But I actually do have a friend who does Safaris in Tanzania. So I am hoping that within the next year or so I will get to go visit him and get to take part in a safari and hopefully get to see some elephants!! images.duckduckgo-2.png

That will be an awesome experience especially when you sit in an open vehicle and they come right to the vehicle. you have to sit dead still and its quite scary. I have had a few close encounters with elephants in nature reserves and i must be honest I prefer to see them far away rather than close up, its a little intimidating. Thank you for visiting and I hope your dream comes true.

i just love "Game", which is what u did at Kruger.
I visited a game site at ZA also back then, lovely experience!
Sadly didn't get to see the Elephants, yet saw the other big 4 :)

you where fortunate to see so many, we always seem to see a lot of elephants, probably because I dont want to see them! lol

wow! beautiful shot.

Thank you so much!

This is beautiful!

thank you appreciate that!

Very nice portrait of this amazing beast! How wonderful that you were able to visit him so close and personal! He probably just wanted you to come get a dust-bath with him! 😉
#steemitbloggers

sure, lol , but I would rather not.

thats great you get chance to take so closely...

it was, but its scary too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63483.25
ETH 2601.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81