A little kindness can go a long way..

in #animalphotography6 years ago (edited)

This squirrel was found all alone in the cold. Mom was dead and I was left asking, "what should I do"?

How many times has that happens to you? Sometimes acting can cause more harm but rarely with kindness as the starting point is this the case in my experience...

squirrel_1.jpg Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!

Here is the situation. Quite a few years back on a dog walk, I happened to find a very young squirrel. After attempts to find his home and hope that his mother would come and get him, I was not sure what to do. It was super cold and this little guy was clearly becoming more distressed as the sun was setting. I did notice a fresh and very dead squirrel body on the road, but I was hoping it might be some other poor soul. After night fell and the temperature dropped, I decided to act as I was convinced in the morning he would be dead by the cold or by dog.

So, I took this little guy in and got him through the immediate trouble with many feeding / drinking sessions that lasted all night. Here were a few shots from the feeding sessions. It did not take long for him to get to know his new "momma"...

squirrel_2.jpg

squirrel_3.jpg

To my luck, there was a "wild" shelter that took in animals like this. I drove him there and met two very beautiful ladies that agreed to take him in. After saying my goodbye, I had this big grin on my face and wished him the best.

Many months later, I received the news that he thrived in his new home and that he grew into a nice healthy male squirrel. The ladies caught a picture of him as he was released into a tree, fully grown and very cheeky...

So I am left with this advice I would like to share with you all.

Never underestimate the impact that a small kind act can have..

If you like this, I hope you will share it with your followers. Thank you!

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.10
Server time: 04:59:45
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 101.45/200.00
Total Photos: 19
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Cute puppy. Good work. What? Did you say squirrel? Really? Cute regardless. Small acts of kindness are priceless and timeless. Thanks for sharing, hehe. I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold. You can call me Joey.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97