The Little Things - Sonoran Desert - Part Two of Five

in #animalphotography6 years ago (edited)

Part two is dedicated to the little creatures I found along the way. I must warn you that there are not many, most desert creatures are shy, fast, and very well camouflaged. These are the few tiny creatures I found, some alive and some not so. Some pretty and some, well, I'll let you be the judge.

Just look at this beauty of beauties.
IMG_0008.jpg
I think this caterpillar is so beautiful I must post a few more photos of it. By the way, the desert was full of them that day!

The Wild Southwest.
IMG_9795.jpg
The markings on this caterpillar are supposed to make it look dangerous, and perhaps the bullet shell casing as well, who knows? o.O

Cuteness overload <3 Notice how the caterpillar uses it's back feet to hold on to the branch. Pretty neat, isn't it?
IMG_9938.jpg

OMG look at the adorable little back feet!!
IMG_9949.jpg

My son's gift.
IMG_4279.jpg
My son found this butterfly for me. Unfortunately it was not alive, but it was still so very beautiful. We of course, left it behind so that it could once again become part of life.

One in a millipede (yep, I'm a dork) :D
IMG_3904.jpg
Coolest find ever and this is not the only one I found!

Here's another millipede, this one I would say it's probably older since it's been completely bleached by the sun.
IMG_0852.jpg

I wish I had taken a better shot here, but I was pressed for time and I had to get this shot on the fly. Even so, you can still appreciate what the whole centipede used to look like. This specimen is a lot more complete than the rest.
IMG_0972.jpg

The unwanted passenger.
IMG_4422.jpg
I will just take a wild guess (pun intended) and say that this flower is not thrilled with having this caterpillar on it >.<

Like a needle in a haystack.
IMG_4399.jpg
Can you find the creature I photographed here? Duh, it's right in the center! lol Still, I think it's pretty hard to see. What do you think?

My favorite colors and a beetle :D
IMG_9882.jpg
Black and red are my favorite colors. Does that mean this beetle is my favorite beetle??… No, I think not lol

The black bee.
IMG_4404.jpg
Or at least I think that's what it is. I couldn't get a good shot on this one. She was there and gone. So that's that.

The blender.
IMG_0025.jpg
The camouflage on this guys is just something else! I promise you, I looked away after taking the photo and I couldn't find him again. Amazing blending!

S#!% I mean, scat. I saved the best for last, the cleaning crew!
IMG_4271.jpg

I would love for someone to tell me what type of scat bugs these are (if you don't know what scat is, well, poof, I don't know what to tell you). Sorry but I had to include these little guys, the cleaning crew. Not as fashionable as any of the above and super tiny, but imagine a world without the cleaning crew! No, I don't want to.

Thank you all for stopping by to read my posts and check out my photos. I truly appreciate it and I hope that you enjoyed them as much as I do.

Thank you! <3

IMG_9930.jpg

To be continued...

Sort:  

Thank you for your comment! 🙏

What a fabulous series of shots of these beautiful little critters

Thank you for your kind words 🙏

just my honest feelings :)

Yeah that camouflage guy is totally something else. Great shot and great observation.

Thank you 🙏 I have more to add!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63597.74
ETH 2476.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53