You didn't begin well in life, poor kitty ! | Tu n'as pas très bien commencé dans la vie, pauvre chaton !steemCreated with Sketch.

in #animal7 years ago (edited)

So, I wanted to post this tomorrow, but I couldn’t wait to tell you the story of my little Niagara ! That were no easy job and I’m very proud of having been able to going through this. So let’s start !

One day, I was returning from class, and my neighbor told me that he heard a little kitty meow in my garden. So we went and checked, and I found this little furball. My heart melted.

So I headed up to the vet and I saw an assistant who told me she was healthy and gave me some kibble samples and a flea treatment. She told me the little one was only one month old. So I returned home and took care of her.

But I found she had difficulties to breathe. She was breathing with mouth open, which is abnormal, even for a tired little kitten. So I decided to go and see a vet the very next day, which was a non-working day.

This is what I did. And that was really really bad to me, and Niagara (as I decided to name her). The vet handled her without any care, and here was the conclusion : Niagara had a diaphragmatic hernia, with the consequence that her digestive system switched to the other side of her diaphragm, where her heart and her lungs are. So it was crushing them, causing respiratory distress and threatening her heart to stop beating. The vet wasn’t very comprehensive and told me that we could either put her down or put her under surgery but it would cost me nearly 1700$. Of course, I declined all these solutions and went back home, crying.

The next day, I decided to go and see the vet that was taking care of my other adult cat. He was very reassuring and told me he could do surgery for her for 740$. But he warned me : if the hernia was congenital, they couldn’t do anything. But this could also have happened if Niagara received a shock. So I took the appointment for the surgery and went back home, my heart full of hope.

I created a funding pot to help me afford the surgery. In three days, I managed to collect more than necessary ! Before the surgery, I had to feed Niagara every 2 hours with small amounts of food, in order to prevent her stomach from crushing her lungs even more.

Then the surgery’s day arrived and I cried when I had to leave her. I knew that maybe, it was the last time I saw her. The the night passed, and Niagara had surgery next morning. When the vet called me to tell me she was safe, I was so happy ! I cried again… but of joy !

She is totally saved now, and is living her normal kitty life, messing around and sleeping a lot ! She will become a beautiful Birman :)


Je voulais poster ça demain, mais j'ai hâte de vous raconter l'histoire de ma petite Niagara! Ça n’a pas été facile et je suis très fière d’avoir pu la sauver. Commençons donc!

Un jour, je revenais des cours, et mon voisin m'a dit qu'il avait entendu un petit chaton miauler dans mon jardin. Nous sommes donc allés vérifier, et j'ai trouvé cette petite boule de poils. Mon cœur a fondu.

Je suis donc allée au vétérinaire et j'ai vu une assistante qui m'a dit qu'elle était en bonne santé et m'a donné des échantillons de croquettes et un traitement contre les puces. Elle m'a dit que la petite n'avait qu'un mois. Je suis donc retournée chez moi et j'ai pris soin d'elle.

Mais j'ai constaté qu'elle avait du mal à respirer. Elle respirait avec la bouche ouverte, ce qui est anormal, même pour un petit chaton fatigué. J'ai donc décidé d'aller voir un vétérinaire le lendemain, qui était un jour férié.

C'est ce que j'ai fait. Et ça a vraiment été très éprouvant pour moi et Niagara (comme j’ai décidé de l’appeler). Le vétérinaire l'a manipulée sans aucun soin, et voici la conclusion: Niagara avait une hernie diaphragmatique, de sorte que son système digestif était passé de l'autre côté de son diaphragme, dans sa cage thoracique, là où se trouvent son cœur et ses poumons. Il les écrasait, provoquant une détresse respiratoire et menaçant son cœur de s’arrêter. Le vétérinaire n'était pas très compréhensif et m'a dit que nous pouvions soit l’euthanasier soit l’opérer, mais cela me coûterait 1500 €. Bien sûr, j'ai refusé toutes ces solutions et je suis retournée chez moi en pleurs.

Le lendemain, j'ai décidé d'aller voir le vétérinaire qui s'occupait de mon autre chat adulte. Il a été très rassurant et m'a dit qu'il pouvait l’opérer pour 660 €. Mais il m'a prévenu: si la hernie était congénitale, ils ne pouvaient rien faire. Mais elle pouvait aussi être traumatique (due à un choc). J'ai donc pris le rendez-vous pour la chirurgie et je suis rentrée à la maison, le cœur plein d'espoir.

J'ai créé un une cagnotte pour m'aider à financer l’opération. En trois jours, j'ai réussi à collecter plus que nécessaire! En attendant, je devais nourrir Niagara toutes les 2 heures avec de petites quantités de nourriture, afin d'empêcher son estomac d'écraser encore plus ses poumons.

Puis le jour de l’opération est arrivé et j'ai pleuré quand j’ai dû la laisser. Je savais que peut-être, c'était la dernière fois que je la voyais. La nuit s'est écoulée, et Niagara a été opérée le lendemain matin. Quand le vétérinaire m'a appelée pour me dire qu'elle était sauvée, j'étais tellement heureuse! J'ai pleuré à nouveau ... mais de joie!
Elle est totalement sauvée maintenant, et vit sa vie normale de chaton, faisant des bêtises et dormant beaucoup! Elle deviendra une belle sacré de Birmanie :)

Sort:  

I just got melted down by the cuteness :D
Very nice story!
I Think youre are good person, followed you :)

Followed you too!

Cute man! What a little hero! 😻

Clearly! I'm so proud of her! :)

I'm so happy Niagara is well. She's a cutie with big wide eyes. May I ask why you called her Niagara? It is an interesting name for a cat. Then so is Cat. Have you ever watched Breakfast at Tiffany's? Great movie!

You're a wonderful person @sabriniel

I named her Niagara because of her deep blue eyes :) And also because the Niagara Falls : she fell in my garden, as she was thrown over my garden's hedge...

I liked you're post, maybe got time to check a post of me?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51