One month with a white ferret ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜ƒ ๐Ÿ˜„ ๐Ÿ˜

in #animal โ€ข 6 years ago

How I came face to face with a white ferret

4.jpg
The white ferret Jake

8.jpg

I found an ad on Facebook by a girl who was looking for someone to take care of her pet, white ferret Jake during her future absence. She planned to work as Au-pair in London for at least one month. As soon as I saw the ad I knew I had to write to her immediately before someone else does. I contacted her via Messenger and asked her where she is from. She lives in Ljubljana and I live in Maribor (both cities are in Slovenia), so it could have been an obstacle, even if the distance between those two cities isn't enormous and can be driven in one hour, but still. She said, as I expected, that she will first try to find someone in Ljubljana. I also told her, that if she won't find anyone, she can message me and that I won't change my mind. A few days later she really wrote back and said, that she will leave sooner as she planned, and if I am still interested since she hasn't found anyone yet. I was really happy and, of course, accepted her request. I wasn't totally sure what to expect from this animal, but I was already interested in it for a long time. I love animals and I would love to work with them in the future. I always wanted to come in touch with ferrets, and now I had the opportunity to really do so. To prepare myself, I read a few posts about how to take care of ferrets, but I knew I will learn the most from the first-hand experience.

12.jpg

9.jpg

Some main things to know about this animal

The day finally came when she brought me her male white ferret. It was my first time I took it in my hands. It is a loving sweet creature, that loves to be petted and held in hands. It also loves to investigate, but only for a shorter period of time at once, since it is a big sleeper and isn't so active during the day. It is very soft, and it kinda feels like it has no bones.

16.jpg

It is a strict carnivore, which means that it can't eat fruits and vegetables (maybe really small amount of it rarely) and other things, only meat based food and fresh meat. It can eat eggs as well, but only one egg here and there. Perfect food for the ferret is ferrets dry food or briquettes or more quality cat briquettes. Occasionally you can give them fish oil as well, and you can apply it on the dry food. As every animal, it needs fresh water on a daily basis.

It has a special smell that bothers many people, but not me. I find it quite interesting and nice and it reminds me of the smell of the pigs. When you rub the pig's back that is covered with bristles, it kind of smells very similarly. Well, maybe this is just me. ๐Ÿ˜‹ It is recommended that you release the ferret out of its cage at least once in a day for a longer time or few times for a shorter time because it needs to be active and loves to explore.

11.jpg

17.jpg

6.jpg
*Ferrets sleep a lot and Jake sleeps even more, since he is already 6 years old (they live 7-8 years approximately). *

The first day or D day

That day, when she brought her ferret Jake to me, I was in anticipation since I woke up. I was waiting and waiting and then it finally came. I took him immediately in hands, carefully, and approached him to my face. He was so soft and nice. He wasn't scared at all, and neither was I. ๐Ÿ˜‹

Me and his owner already discussed the main things about him the day before, so I already knew what his days are like. I wanted to make him feel homely as possible. She brought everything he needed: the cage (obviously), food, litter and other stuff. I have a dog Arni and they were really friendly with each other since the first moment they rubbed their noses together. She said that Jake can bite the dog and already has, but he was really nice with Arni, and so was Arni.

10.jpg
When Jake and Arni first met.

The everyday life with the ferret Jake in one month

Once in a day or two, I changed his litter and every few days I also changed his food. I gave him fresh water daily, a small amount of fish oil once a week and one egg. I cut his nails once, but never washed him. I took him out of the cage every day, and he was in the house and outside. He loved the grass and was constantly rubbing himself on it. He was really curious and was often following me. He loved to sleep in a big hood from a winter jacket, but then I gave him a pillow, that was opened on the one side and filled with soft stuffing and he loved that as well. He really enjoyed it, so I gave that pillow with him when he went home, and besides that, I gave him an empty container of popcorn, because he loved it too.

1.jpg
When he hears the sound of the bag, he immediately runs to it, because he knows it is food in there.

13.jpg
He loves the grass.

2.jpg
Jake and his hood.

15.jpg
His sleeping pillow, he loved it a lot.

3.jpg
His little fangs

14.jpg
Photoshooting

My boyfriend petted him as well, but the whole care for Jake was on me. My family (mom, brother and sister) came to visit, and we went all together for a walk. They were all impressed by the ferret. We also paid a visit with Jake to the family of my boyfriend and they were interested too.

The last day

This day came very quickly. I had Jake for one month and one week, but the time went by way to fast. I prepared all his stuff and cleaned his cage. One hour before she came, I was outside with Jake, petting him and saying goodbye. He was on the grass, resting before the ride in the car. I was a little sad, but not as much sad as I would be if I had to take care of a dog since ferrets aren't so attached to people. I was very happy that I had this experience and am looking forward to more of that. I am interested in other animals as well, like exotic ones and also dogs, and will try to find more ads of people looking for someone to take care of their animals during their absence.

18.jpg
One of his last pictures

19.jpg
Arni and little Jake

Thanks for your time. ๐Ÿ’™ I hope you will like this post. ๐Ÿ˜Š You can follow me for more posts about animals and other stuff and pictures as well. ๐Ÿ˜Ž Enjoy life and see you soon. ๐Ÿ˜

29792865_1764700813569359_3180925703667318784_n.jpg

Sort: ย 

Rule No. 1: Never lose money. Rule No. 2: Never forget rule No.1

ย 6 years agoย (edited)

I have to say it! This is so cute! That ferret is so adorable! <3

This ferret isn't mine :) I am describing, how I took care of it for one whole month :D but thank you, he is sweet :D

What a cute ferret! I never had one, but my neighbor growing up had one. He was awesome! His name was "Stinky" on account they tend to smell like urine a lot, lol.

Haha, Stinky :D :D yeah, they are really cute and special animals :)

Hi mystic-creature,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

Thank you so much for choosing me :D I am so honored to be part of it. I had to check this post a few times to really convince myself, that it is truly my post => tears of joy :D It's my first post with such a success, so I am beyond happy. Thanks once again, you made my day 100%. I will do my best in the future. ๐Ÿ˜Š ๐Ÿ˜‡ ๐Ÿ™‚

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63626.66
ETH 2640.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75