The Power of the Spirit Animal

in #animal7 years ago

platyhorse.jpg

Look I know what you may be thinking, isn’t a spirit animal just a silly introductory joke you make at orientation? Well good human I am here to tell you that yes, yes it is. But it is also much more than this. What could possibly be the value of a spirit animal in your life? To begin with it can help you connect to nature and the world around you. Throughout history Nations, religions, rulers, and common people have utilized spirit animals to inspire, guide and solidify their identity. For example, when you think of the eagle what national images come to mind? For the sake of illustration what symbols/cultures come to mind when you read panda, cow or tiger? What does this have to do with being connected to nature and the world around you?

All of these animals are current national symbols, and in those nations there is actually protections for those animals several of which face extinction. These symbols are so important to those cultures that they revere them and commit resources to protect them which in turn create a concern for the natural habitat they inhabit. They put them on currency, flags, uniforms, and apparel. The simple fact that nations utilize these animals as symbols has the power to elicit action to protect their environment in a situation in which they would probably be destroyed otherwise. That is how much power these symbols can have in the real world.

Now other than just on a cultural level, spirit animals have been used in shamanistic rites and personal identity for a very long time. They can help people in self-realization or even provide inspiration and resolve. For example my spirit animal is the platypus. Yes, the platypus. That duck billed furry mammal that lays eggs and has poisonous barbs. Or in my words, proof that god has a sense of humor.

If that strikes you as odd let me explain. At a very young age I grew to have a great love for animals, and yes I know some love animals in other ways (food). My child hood was spent in a pet store every weekend that my family owned caring for/playing with animals. My TV sessions were mainly consumed by many of hours watching national geographic and animal planet. However I never really had a favorite animal or anything that really provided me with inspiration.

All of that changed when I went to a state fair and wandered into an area where animals were on display. In a tank that was eye level to me I came across a playful platypus that was just chilling in the water. My first reaction was confusion at what I was seeing because I had never seen a platypus before. After asking what the creature was with great excitement, I learned that it was a platypus from Australia and from that day forward it was cemented as my favorite animal.

Fast forward to current day, every time I meet new people or am in a socials setting where the spirit animal game comes up, I always draw several laughs and smiles when I mention that mine is the platypus. It is far more than just a joke though, as that love drove me to find out more about the animal and learn about it and its environment. While the platypus is not endangered at the moment because conservation efforts have been successful it is in need of further conservation and that drove me to donate to this effort. As well it is always fun to talk about the platypus with people for casual fun and educate them if they are so inclined to help with conservation as well. A little bit from many people goes a long way after all.

Not only does a spirit animal have traditional, cultural, spiritual, and social utility but it helps keep our mind connected and concerned with the greater world around us. It can draw us to create conservation movements and even affect political/development decisions. While it may seem silly to have a spirit animal to some, if anything you may be able to make someone smile when you meet them with some silly little tidbit about your spirit animal and that may be worth more than
you can put into words.

Just for fun I looked up the meaning for the platypus as a spirit totem and this is what I found. ”You enjoy your solitude and have never really fit into mainstream society. You are comfortable with this because you revel in your own uniqueness and strength of character. You lean toward career where you spend a great deal of time alone – usually with some sort of sensitive electrical equipment (Programmers and Analysts). You work well on your own, are not afraid to use your imagination and logic to manifest what you desire in life. You are adept at examining your life experiences and know how to subtly share the lessons you glean from them without preaching (1).” And this actually describes me pretty well, who would have known. What do you think about his? Do you have a spirit animal? Are you into shamanism, or have a spiritual connection to nature? Or do you simply find it to be a fun social tool to share a particular animal you love with others?

  1. https://www.spirit-animals.com/platypus/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71152.89
ETH 3805.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49