My Danes' Story

in #animal6 years ago (edited)

FB_IMG_1517849385049.jpgMeet Sancha (previously named Girl). She was a trucker dog. That's right, truck as in giant semi with a little cabin in the back, barely large enough for a person, let alone a person and a Great Dane.
A friend of mine had pulled into a truck stop in San Antonio, to see a middle aged-rough 'round the edges type- woman, beating the daylights out of a gangly grey puppy. He rushed over to the woman, who was now shoving the pup into her truck, and asked as politely as he could 'what the heck is going on here?!'.
She explained to him that the damn dog wouldnt wait in the truck, and she couldn't leave it tied to the mirror anymore because last time she tried that, a man's dog jumped out of his truck at the pump, bolted right at this Dane pup, and attacked it.
FB_IMG_1517849312900.jpg
My friend didn't quite know what to say or do to remedy the situation and help this little girl.. so he offered what he had in his wallet for her. A measly $83 for a purebred pup, but the woman took it. She handed the rope over to my friend and just like that, 'Girls' life was changed.
My friend took the cowardly pup to his car, still sitting at his pump, and she gladly hopped in his car. I like to think she knew that she had just met an angel.
IMG_20171229_142558541.jpg
Another problem arose though.. my friend is a 'cat person'. When I say 'cat person', I mean that if he were the opposite gender he would be considered a crazy cat lady. Great Danes and 8 indoor cats don't mix well..
So my friend sat at this truck stop in San Antonio, and called everyone he could think of, to come save this puppy for the second time today. He couldn't bring her to a shelter after telling her he would make sure she was safe.. but he couldn't bring her home either. Over an hour later I came across his post on FB.
My husband and I rushed to San Antonio from 3 hours away, and picked up our new family member.
IMG_20171226_123847659.jpg
I'm not sure if it's the love she receives from us, the gratitude for the spoiled rotten life she lives, or if it's just a Great Dane thing... But she's the best damn dog I've ever had or met.
FB_IMG_1517849271955.jpg
FB_IMG_1517849294193.jpg
P.s.
My husband named her. Sancha means 'other woman, or mistress' hahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57184.88
ETH 3097.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41