The health of my friends geckos...

in #animal7 years ago

Hello Steemians! Sorry for the bad pictures, but warning that the photos might be a bit graphic and gross...

I am here to write a small rant about my friends leopard geckos that I am currently watching for her at the moment.
She is dealing with some family issues and trying to find work to get a place of her own, so that is why I have the animals. Good thing she didn't leave them all with me to care for. Other then the two leopard geckos- she also has three snakes, three crested geckos, and a leachie gecko.

She has a lot of reptiles, more then me lol, but she doesn't seem to take care of them very well. Only for some of them...

She has recently lost a baby crested gecko that was born this year, and one leopard gecko. On top of that, she has gotten rid of two gargoyle geckos and a bearded dragon.

...

Back to the leopard geckos that I am watching.
I am worried about cross-contamination between her leo's and mine. I don't want to have any issues at all! too much money for vet bills and going through the process.. I know because my last leopard gecko that I had had to be put down since it wasn't getting better.

Nova, the one that looks to be in much better shape.. though she does have a lazy eye. I am currently trying to give her more calcium and feeding her "gut-loaded" worms. She is at normal weight, but from what I have seen with my friend, she didn't give her the required calcium and vitamin supplements.
image1 (4).JPG

The one that I am mainly concerned about is Gizmo. Last time I saw her, she was so over weight! Now she is the complete opposite of that which really makes me worry!
When I took her I did realize that the tail was skinny and her eyes were bulgy. I didn't know the reason for the eyes until a few days after.

I took her out and wanted to take a better look at her eyes. I thought I was tripping and maybe one eye was all black and the other was like a snake eye, but it wasn't at all. The swollen eye was red, like she had a clot with fluid inside.
I realized there was fluid once she was closing her eyes a bit and was "squeezing" some of the fluid out.
image2.JPG

First I really wanted to bring her to the vet and have her checked out, but it isn't mine and I can't afford the vet bills for her. I contacted my friend about it and all she wanted for me is get some saline solution and she might try and get some reptile eye flushing stuff for infections.
image3.JPG

After almost a week of cleansing her eye with saline and cool water. I have seen a small different. No more solid red blood clot, very little fluid, and started to see the eye itself. It is still just as swollen and red, and I feel that the saline solution might not completely get rid of this eye problem.
In the last photo, it may look like the eye is cloudy, but it's just from the flash.
Other then helping with her eye, I am also feeding her "gut-loaded" worms, and wax worms with calcium, and vitamin supplements.

Please prayer for poor Gizmo and hope that she gets better. I am trying my best to get her better and fatten her up to normal weight.

Upvote, Comment and Follow if you want to see more posts and maybe an update of the leopard geckos on this post :)

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit! I hope you enjoy your stay here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64024.15
ETH 3515.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55