How to get rid of ants in the apartment?

in #animal6 years ago

That is the main question we are dealing with for past couple of months. We got them from a relative, which had problems in her building. After bringing a bag of things in our home all started...

How serious ants are in an apartment depends on what kind of ants that are. In many block settlements, the problem is the so-called pharaohs, small ants, which measure two to three millimeters. And those are our nightmare.

mravlje-faraonke.jpg
Photo source:

Pharaohs are transmitted in different ways, but they travel together with building material, and after settling-in in some environment, they often march through and out of pipes for heating and other installations. Apparently, it is the heat that is what they are looking for, so we often see them in winter, and they also look for food. Unlike other ants, they don't want sweet foods, but mainly protein, because they are carnivorous. If you have these ants in the apartment, then you will not be able to do anything against them. It is necessary to desinsect the whole residential building, otherwise, you won't be able to get rid of them. So now we are looking for the best way to get rid of them permanently...

mravlje-faraonke-.jpg
Photo source:

I found on the web this information, which I'll give it a try for sure:

"Peppermint", which so pleasantly refreshes our mouth, is not popular among ants. If you use an essential oil of peppermint for aromatherapy and the apartment is beautifully scented with it, the ants in the house will see an unattractive and smelly space for them. If you drop a few drops of peppermint where they usually walk into your home, they will definitely no longer step into it. At least not through this door."

After reading this I saw a hope at the end of the tunnel... Wish me luck in the war against them. Good night.

Sort:  

I ❤️🐜
BUT
Not in the apartment

Hehe. I agree. 🙂

Maybe one day, my wife will let me have a small antfarm 🤗 We are big fans of ants canada / Youtube 🍀

That is horrible to have ants in apartment, and it is really hard to get rid of them, we have used Raid Ant and Cockroach Killer Spray, that is available in UK, I do not know if you can buy it there where you live, that was really helpful, no ants for last two years :)

I am trying now with my diffuser and peppermint. If that won't work I will have to find a more radical solution. But thanks for your tips, I will look them up.

Sounds like worth a try! At least your place will smell good!

I am doing my best. Although after two days they are still around. I will continue this for a week, and we will see.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62869.05
ETH 2545.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72