There is a zoo at our yard

in #animal6 years ago

Couple years ago, we bought our current house. In our yard, there are two very tall mulberry trees. Every summer, when it’s time for mulberry to ripe, we expect hundreds of non-human friends in our yard.
Sometimes, there could be hundreds of different birds like robbins, blue jays, and a lot other birds that I couldn’t name. There are also tons of squirrels living on the trees, they often come to the ground and eat the mulberries on the floor.

IMG_0737.JPG

We have planted many flowers and plants, they attract rabbits to our yard. I like rabbits, but not when they dig out the root of my plants and eat them. We have to put some rabbit scam around the plants, but still sometimes, rabbits could find a way to get away from it and ruined my plants.

Due to animal protection law in US, here is like a heaven to our animal friends. Nobody seem to want to hunt them, the animals are not even afraid of human, we all seem to live in harmony. This is why we see so many different kinds of animals in these areas, like herds of geese, ducks, rabbits, birds, hawks, turkeys, etc. Sometimes, they will wander around or on the main roads, people have to be very careful at driving so as not to crash them. It’s really testing of your patient when you see a big group of geese family crossing the road. You have to wait there for them to go first.

My mom’s here for visit. My hometown used to be like this, there were a lot of animals on the fields. I still remember when I was young, I went out to the field to catch some frogs to feed our farm raised ducks. And I also heard bird chirping, sometimes even felt a bit annoy as it was too loud. But now, you can barely see frogs and birds due to human behaviors. It’s kind of sad. One day, my mom was wechatting with my aunt. My mom told my aunt that the animals in here are so lucky. The initial reaction from my aunt is- “wow, if I can go to US, I don’t need to worry about food!” LOL!

Actually there is certain period time of the year where you can hunt some types of animals, but I guess as hunting is not popular in this area, people don’t even bother to get a gun. It must be pretty popular in Michigan. I heard from many colleagues from Michigan that they do hunting a lot there.

Now we seem to live peacefully with our animal friends, but the world is all about balance, if one day, some type of animals are too much and start to influence our daily life, I believe, certain control will be enforced to keep the harmony going.

IMG_0738.JPG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71443.06
ETH 3660.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73