You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Speak Up for Animals: you don’t need a dietary adjustment; you need an attitude adjustment

Nicely said, @goose. I've been a vegetarian for 23 years (since college), and a vegan 11 or 12 years. It varies between full and partial veganism. I take a hard line on "no meat whatsoever, and yes, fish and sea creatures count as meat, too." But, I sometimes use a little organic butter here and there, and pastured eggs, because I believe they were produced without harming the animal, and because they have health benefits. Whether I'm talking about being a vegetarian or a vegan, I get met with hostile attitudes by those who disagree. I used to be pretty evangelical about my belief in kindness toward ALL animals, but I don't talk about it as much now, because people just don't want to listen. I figure I'm doing my part on my own plate.

One thing I DO speak up about is my disgust of trophy and sport hunting. Killing animals just for fun is simply twisted to me, and indicative of a disturbed person.

Thank you for talking about this very important issue here.

Sort:  

Thanks, Steph. I was also vegetarian before vegan, and have been vegan for many years now. My thinking about it has gone up and down and all around over the years, but I have finally settled on the idea that it's about respect more than kindness. Just like I wouldn't call it kind to try not to discriminate against other groups of humans, I don't think that refusing to participate in animal abuse should be seen as kind, which almost implies something extra. I think it should just be the norm, the moral baseline.

I realize, though, that this is in some ways a "cold" approach, and that it can be effective to use the word kind, because it ties into the way most people want to see themselves. However you phrase it, I hope you will consider talking about it again. Even though most people don't want to listen, it doesn't mean the message isn't affecting them. A lot of the people I talk to who eventually went vegan said it wasn't any one thing that made them vegan; it was after many different things from many different sources that it finally all came together for them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62195.97
ETH 2415.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64