Stand Up For Yourself

in #anhouraday6 years ago

You know what? I have been there. I know how it feels to be poorly treated or bullied. I remembered how some of my classmates do draw my ears and hair when I started school. When I turn around to identify the culprit, they will deny the action. I reported to my teacher and the bullies accused me of false allegation. They continued their mischievous act and threatened to deal with me if I report them again. bully-624747_640.jpg

Image Source

I was scared that they will beat me. I kept quiet to avoid worsening the situation. One day, I got fed up and decided to defend myself. I hit the bully, who was stunned that I have the courage to fight back. I held him until the teacher came to separate us. The boy named his friends and they were punished.

Though it is against the school regulations to fight, I had to put an end to the ill-treatment. I have no intention of being physically violent, but those classmates of mine made me despise being in class. They nicknamed me but we later became friends.

Learn To Defend Yourself

Many individuals, both young and old, are poorly treated by friends, family members, colleagues, and other people. Just like me, some of these victims may be scared to stand up against the maltreatment. Some may think that it will make the situation worse. Over time, they become helpless and lose their self-respect.

self-confidence-2121159_640.jpg

Image Source

You shouldn’t allow others to treat you poorly because you want to gain their approval. You deserve to be happy. So, don’t let anyone humiliate you. Be self-confident and know your worth. People will not disrespect you when you believe in yourself. I didn’t defend myself initially when I was maltreated by some of my classmates because I was afraid that they would reject me. However, I defended myself when I can no longer stand being treated less than I deserve.

Express your views politely. Don’t affirm other people’s opinions when you are not satisfied with them. Such behavior will lower your self-esteem. Think highly about yourself and let others know how you want to be treated. The way you regard yourself will determine how people will treat you.

adult-3365364_640.jpg

Image Source

Be firm and don’t displease yourself to please others. Decide how you interact with people. Never allow anyone to intimidate you. Always say “no” when you are dissatisfied with any opinion or situation. Be bold when you interact with people. You are likely to be intimidated when you are shy.

Don’t look down on yourself. You may have abilities that are superior to those of the people you thought are better than you. Appreciate yourself and don’t allow others to disrespect you. Those that treat you without kindness will be surprised when they see the changes in you. Eventually, they will respect you.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by amelin from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59358.13
ETH 2471.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45