Show Me The Angpao - CNY Contest by @janicechua

in #angpao20196 years ago

The angpow packets are the nicest one I had ever seen. The design is simple with polka dots and a meaningful pattern of a writing brush, gold nugget, a house and a heart on each of it respectively.

Usually, the red packets are full with Chinese characters and flowery. I don't really fancy.

Some with the Chinese zodiac animals, some with cute cartoon designs and some with fishes. Too common.

Where from? These are complimentary packets given by Golden Screen Cinemas when u buy the Large Combo. My mom and I went to watch 'How To Train Your Dragon 3: Hidden World'. She bought a Large Combo Snack (2 large soft drinks and 1 large bucket of caramel popcorn) at RM14.20.

The are Wishes at the back of them. The meanings on the back of red packets, in order from left to right:

  1. Xin xiang shi cheng - may all your hearts desires come true.
  2. Gong xi fa cai - wishing you abundance of prosperity.
  3. He jia ping an - whole family peaceful and healthy.
  4. Wan shi ru yi - smoothness is anything that you do.

My mom helped me to translate the above. Please correct me if we are wrong. Hehe.

At the bottom of the wishes, there are recommendations of movies. I think I am not going to watch because I can't understand much Chinese. HOWEVER, I think my mom will drag me to watch at least one anyhow...

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

thank you! so lovely.

Congratulations @flyingkittie! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

You've received an upvote from SteemXP Community.

SteemXP Curation Guild is dedicated to the growing Southeast Asia steemit communities. To support and promotes new and promising authors, original and good content from Southeast Asian Nations Member Nation. Indonesia, Thailand, Malaysia, Vietnam, Singapore, Philippines, Myanmar (Burma), Cambodia, Laos, Brunei.

Check out our Website, Join our community on Discord and support our mission by following our curation guild.

Vote SteemXP Witness @bitrocker2020 using this link

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58085.08
ETH 2337.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37