Chinese New Year Contest – My Chosen Angpao

in #angpao20186 years ago (edited)

In conjunction with the upcoming Chinese Lunar New Year, @howtostartablog has organised a contest in search of the best looking angpao.

It is my first time participating in a contest on Steemit and this is my chosen angpao:

angpao2018.jpeg

My angpao is from the insurance company, Allianz and it is my favourite out of all the red packets that I received this year. At first glance, I think it has the cutest design. However, if we take a closer look, I think this angpao design has a profound message that it wants to convey and that is UNITY among us, Malaysians in a multi-racial Malaysia.

Close-up view of the front:

angpao2018_front.jpeg

There are nine kids featured on the face of this angpao and what a fitting number it is (in my opinion) because phonetically, ‘9’ means ‘forever’ in Chinese (be it Cantonese or Mandarin). If the theme of this angpao design is indeed unity, then it must have meant that Malaysians will stand united as ONE, through good and bad times, ALWAYS.

All these kids are dressed to the nines (yes, I have mentioned the number ‘9’ again but I can’t help it because these are indeed words I want to use to describe), looking resplendent in their festive attires. I could spot a Malay boy (by virtue of him wearing a blue baju Melayu and purple sampin) and an Indian girl in pigtails dressed in red kurta and white churidar pants. I am going to make an assumption that the rest of the kids are Chinese because they are wearing Chinese traditional costumes. The three main races in Malaysia, so perfectly represented!

Unlike most red packets with well-wishing wordings printed on them, this angpao relies only on this little girl with a scroll in hand to deliver its message:

angpao2018 (c).jpeg

The back of the angpao has a simple finishing and somewhat reminds me of a treasure chest. It has an auspicious message printed on it too:

angpao2018_back.jpeg

If you have an angpao with an interesting design, you can submit an entry and join in the fun too. Details of the contest can be found here. Contest ends 18 February at 10:00PM (GMT +8).

GONG XI FA CAI!

Sort:  

Congratulations @redtomato! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64112.50
ETH 3174.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54