Angpao 2018: From One Rooster to Another

in #angpao20186 years ago (edited)

It all started when my mom asked me to help her collect ang pao packets whenever I shop at malls just before Chinese New Year.

I was still in my early 20s, not married and do not need to give out ang paos during CNY yet.

Over the years it slowly became a habit and I developed an interest in collecting ang pao packets.

I see them as a blessing and at some point I stopped discarding ang pao packets that I received because I do not want to throw away the blessings.

A few years ago I started a group on Facebook for ang pao collectors where we shared and exchanged our collections.

I have not been very active in the group since due to family and work commitments but a lot of passionate members kept the group growing.

The members are very creative - they will come out with games to giveaway ang pao packets which are normally much sought after.

They even came up with ideas that lead to several ang pao auctions to raise funds for charities!

One of the biggest blessing that came out from this group are the friends I have made through this hobby.

There is one lady who is a veteren in ang pao collecting and she always managed to get a lot of beautiful, interesting and rare ang paos.

This generous lady will always give out part of her collections to us and I must say that my collection now consist of a lot of beautiful ang paos from her.

My entry today happens to be an ang pao I received from her recently. It’s one from 2017 year of the rooster courtesy of Silk Air.

Now why rooster since this year is the year of a dog?

Because she is rooster and so am I, and she told me she knew I would love it.

44EEFFE5-A5F2-47C7-8E7F-06CB8CA6BAE0.jpeg

The ang pao has a very vintage feel to it. The rooster is colourful and there are plum blossoms decorating it.

This is one of my favourite so far, and I hope you’d like it just as much as I do!

Sort:  

I am also rooster... but I do not collect ang pow.. in fact, I try not to keep much material things.. that is why I take photos..

Takes up a lot less space right? I’m trying to declutter and own less now. This year not so gung-ho already, and have to be picky. Also using up past years ones so that there’s no wastage. Come to think of it a lot of papers and resources wasted on angpao printing yearly.

By the way do you make prints / photobooks of your favourite photos? Somehow i feel if we selectively pick some and put them into print chances of going through them again higher, otherwise it’ll be hidden in our digital storage for goodness knows how long.

Yeah... that is why I love the idea of WeChat Ang Pow... fast, efficient and more environmental friendly..

I do not print any of my photos, but they ready to be printed at any time. I don't print for a few reasons:

  1. Takes up space
  2. Collect dust
  3. Good printing with frame costs a lot of money.. easily RM300 or more..
  4. Color fades

Unlike most people, I only keep very few photos, so it is always a breeze for me and my family/friends to go over the photos... Since 2005, I have only 12 thousand photos (including work and photos for my customers). Hence, it takes me only seconds to locate my photos and I know people do go over my photos based on my Facebook likes. I can tell you that most people especially parents accumulate 12 thousand photos only of one of their children within a few short years. Hence, it is tiresome to locate a particular photos (if you can even find it).

There are digital frame and wallpapers.... at the end of the day, digital photography is exactly like material objects... good to have few good ones than a lot of them..

Haha i still cannot accept the idea of wechat ang pow. I feel some traditions need to be uphold otherwise CNY will become just another public holiday. Maybe we can look into a less wastage way to do it - recycling angpao packets, printing less etc.

You must be really organised to be able to locate so much photos in so little time! What are you, a Virgo?
Each time I take a shot i try to make it count, just like back in those days when we have a maximum of only 36 shots per roll of film.

But first need to work on my skill 😂

Are you planning on doing a workshop for lousy photographers?

I am Gemini and I am extremely organised... hehehe
Less is more when it comes to photography
Yes, planning for photography class very soon:)

Looking forward to learning from you!

Haha.... get ready.. it will be simple and informative...

Great, straight to the point. I just hope the timing is right!

Congratulations @ladylei! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

As long it doesn't bark, it'll be good :P

Haha i like your sense of humour.

Congratulations @ladylei! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

I love art. I love being creative. I am not married either hehe. Thanks for sharing. I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold. Happy Easter 2018.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68220.71
ETH 3321.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74