Anger Check Points and Anger Check Down

in #anger7 years ago

What are anger check points and anger check down? In my sometimes weird mind, it is checking all points of the situation to see if it was even necessary to be angry. Recently a truck was being pushed down the street in front of my home due to flooding waters. They asked if they could push the truck into my empty driveway. I said, "heck no, move on peasant". Just kidding, I said, "yes, go ahead". Now, there are several things to consider with the decision to allow this. One, the truck is being pushed, which means it is not working. Two, I didn't know these folks and if I needed the driveway after the flood waters receded, how in the world could I find them. Of course exchanging numbers is the smartest way to remedy that issue. Three, even if I found them later on, more than likely a tow truck would have to remove the vehicle, which could take awhile. Nevertheless, in a time of need most people help others in that time of need. Okay, turns out that they received help in a different way and didn't have to park in the driveway. Result being, the driveway remained clear, the people went to place they wanted to go to and we moved on. Next day. Looked outside and there was a different truck in the driveway. What?!?! Emotional response: "why in the heck would they park the truck in the driveway" - "what if I have to leave and they are blocking the driveway" - "some people are so inconsiderate". Now, here is when the anger check points have to be evaluated and the anger check down deployed. One, the truck in the driveway belongs to the neighbors son. If they would have asked me at 4AM to park the truck in the spot would I have said no? No. Two, I know who owns the truck and it is in running condition. Three, the water receded quite a bit and if I needed to use the driveway I could have simply knock on the door and ask them to move the truck. The second truck in the driveway was much better than having the first in the spot. In addition, it would have been hard for the neighbors son, who probably came with the wife and children, to find somewhere to park and get to his parents house. It work out like it should have.

In that scenario it is so easy to let emotions take over and cloud good judgement. How many times in our lives, using different scenarios, do we allow anger through emotionalism to get the best of us. Unnecessary anger and stress are not good for the body or our well being going forward in life.

I hope this little experience helps someone. Thanks for reading it.

Peace/Shalum.

Sort:  

It is a good way to look at things.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 59198.54
ETH 3287.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43