ANGER - Hindrances To Belief In God

in #anger7 years ago

BlogPostImage
Image Source

Anger can destroy a person’s spiritual life. The consequences of unrepented anger are huge.

Ephesians 4:26-27 says,
“In your anger, do not sin.
Do not let the sun go down while you are still angry, and do not give the devil a foothold.”

Proverbs 29:22 says,
“An angry man stirs up dissension, and a hot-tempered man commits many sins.”

James 1:19-20 says,
“My dear brothers and sisters take note of this:
Everyone should be quick to listen and slow to become angry,
for man’s anger does not bring about the righteous life God desires.”

All of us have experienced anger. We’ve been angry and have experienced the anger of others, either toward us or toward others. We can become angry because we’ve been hurt, disappointed, corrected, hated, cursed, or mistreated.

When we don’t love our enemies, do good to those who hate us, bless those who curse us, and pray for those who mistreat us, we sin. When we’re quick to get angry, we sin.

When we sin, we give the devil a foothold. His flaming darts come at us as he tempts us to doubt God’s love for us. He may tell us we deserve to be mad and we need to get even.

When we act on any of these temptations, we sin, and have given the devil a foothold to destroy our lives. I say it again, it is a big deal when we give the devil an opening in our life. A foothold in Biblical culture was a place in the wall around the city where the enemy could put his foot to crawl over the wall and gain access into the city, so that he might steal, kill and destroy.

BlogPostImage

We can be angry at many things, but for now, let’s examine our anger toward God. If we are angry at God this is very serious, for we have truly given the enemy a large advantage in our life! We’ve not just given him a foothold, it is more like opening the gates and inviting him in. In our sin of anger we have separated ourselves from God’s fellowship. Satan, as the accuser of the brethren, will fill our heads with as many lies as possible. Those lies can seem like they are on a huge speaker blowing his lying stuff into our heads 24/7. And we can believe those lies and act on them as though they were truth.

BlogPostImage
Image Source

When we don’t repent of anger, then we harbor bitterness and unforgiveness. Both of these destroy lives. The sin of anger hardens our hearts, and then we can’t hear God. Let’s soften our hearts and hear God’s words to His children. Precious people, God loves you. He loves you more than you can imagine. Our anger towards God is misdirected. God is not the problem. He is the answer, always. The sin of anger hardens our hearts, and then we can’t hear God. Let’s soften our hearts and hear God’s words to His children.

The 40th chapter of Isaiah is special. God wants us to take comfort in who He is and what He promises to do for us.
“Comfort, comfort my people, speak tenderly to her and tell her that her sins have been paid for.”

BlogPostImage
Image Source

God is everlasting; He is eternal. Be comforted that none can compare to God. Yes, none can compare to the love, grace, mercy and power of God. God has poured out His love on you. He promises to care for you. The last four verses are written out for you. They’re incredible promises to all of us.

Life is hard. God tells us over and over that it’s hard and often seems unfair. But, the good news is, His power is working in our lives. But when we hold on to anger, we’ll grow tired and weary, and won’t receive God’s comfort. He understands, and is able and willing to help us. Eagles soar above the storms of life—the stronger the storm, the higher they fly. When we’re living by the power of the Holy Spirit within us, we, too, can soar.

Why do you say, O Jacob, and complain,
O Israel,
“My way is hidden from the Lord;
my cause is disregarded by my God”?
Do you not know? Have you not heard?
The Lord is the everlasting God,
the Creator of the ends of the earth.
He will not grow tired or weary,
and his understanding no one can fathom.
He gives strength to the weary
and increases the power of the weak.

Even youths grow tired and weary,
and young men stumble and fall;
but those who hope in the Lord
will renew their strength.
They will soar on wings like eagles;
they will run and not grow weary,
they will walk and not be faint.
Isaiah 40:27-31

FORGIVENESS FOR ANGER

Heavenly Father,
Lord, I have been angry at You. I have been angry because my life isn’t going the way I planned. I have desires to do things you call sin! I have blamed these desires on you! I have made excuses and rationalized these desires and have acted them out. Now, I feel dirty. I feel no good. I turned my back on you, cussed you, and cussed the way you made me. I rejected you, because I thought you had rejected me.

WOW! What a fool I have been. You created me to be a temple for the Holy Spirit. You created me so that You could live in me and I could glorify You. I have been deceived. It was never You, God, that gave me these desires. Your word says you don’t tempt us. Satan is the tempter, the liar and the accuser of my soul. He has pounded my mind with these desires and lies. I thought it was Your fault and I had no choice but to act out these sinful desires. I was wrong. I have been brainwashed.

You, O God, have a great future planned for me! What a fool I have been. Soften my heart so that your promises will go into my heart, grow and fill me with life. Please clear out all distractions so that I might hear Your voice, O Lord.

I repent of my anger toward you! I repent of all my shameful acts! I run to You, Lord. Lavish me with Your perfect love. Create in me a clean heart. Give me the strength to believe You and turn a deaf ear to lies.

Forgive us for our anger. We repent and turn totally to You. Forgive us for complaining about our lives and for thinking that You didn’t care about us. Forgive us for the pity party we’ve been having. We’ve been so focused on ourselves that we forgot about You. Lord, help us to put our eyes on You. Help us to put our hope in You. Forgive us for quenching and disregarding all that You want to do in our lives. In the name of Jesus, by the power of the blood of Jesus, I ask that You fill each of us to overflowing with the Holy Spirit. Open our eyes, Lord. Open our ears, Lord. The devil has deceived us. We’ve ignored the help; the Comforter that You sent to us. Your Word says that You are able to do exceedingly, abundantly more than we can think or imagine by the power that is at work within us.

Turn the Holy Spirit loose in our lives. Let each one see, feel and hear You. Work great things in our lives. Lord, open our eyes. Open our ears. Open our hearts that we might see, hear, and feel Your love being lavished on us. Thank You that You love us even though we’ve been angry at You and at those You created.
In the mighty and awesome name of Jesus Christ, we pray, Amen.

chingpherd.jpg

Sort:  

Thank you for the article, ate. I think anger is unavoidable, but the key is to have an outlet so you can release that anger constructively.

Yeah! I agree with you @migzillion. Anger is unpredictable. We never know when or where it will happen..

@driva has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61029.99
ETH 3375.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48