Angel with Armor

in #angel7 years ago

Anyong haseyo guys, I'm here again!

Today, I made another painting, today's medium is poster paint which I can't see the difference with water color. I tried Googling the difference of the two mediums and here is what Google said:

Watercolor is transparent while Gouache and Poster Paint are opaque. All three are water-based paints, which means both medium utilizes water as a solvent. ... Watercolor and gouache have finer pigments and can come in both tube and pans while poster paints, with pigments more coarse, often come in jars.

Okay, water color is transparent but isn't there a type of water color that is opaque too? And I can dilute poster and gouache with water too to make it transparent. So which is it? Is it just the difference in the containers and names or is there something that I can't see here?


Today's piece is an angel with armor. As always, I wanted my concepts to be associated with the subject birds so I guess you can tell why I picked an angel for my subject here.

Angel with Righteousness

First I did the rough draft(skipped the drawing part so this post doesn't go too long)

I started with doing a background because one of the comments with yesterday's post said so. I have demanding audience yesterday. XD
This color is yellow, the camera can't capture it's yellowness cause I diluted the poster color with water to make it transparent(told you!)

Then I added orange to the background, same thing here with the orange, its diluted with water.
Applied pale orange on the face of my angel. ;)
The opacity of the pale orange is too strong so I brushed water on it to neutralize it's color a little.
Applied burnt sienna for the hair.
Then I applied dirty white on the other parts to make the pencil marks less visible.
Added black to have mid tone with gray.
Then I started layering the colors
I chose blue for some of the armor's under color.
Then applied black on the areas where I want to neutralize that bright color.
Then I did the sword with black paint.
Nothing much to say about the sword but mostly, the techniques I used in this painting is the same. The under tone, mid tone and light color.
There, the wings are complete.
A little more work with the legs
Now I added more details on the background
Making mountainous background is really simple, just brush some brown and black and make them look like mountaions.
And there we have it, Angelous...

That's it for this post today! Thank you for at least browsing! Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

Everything here is mine, I'm an original content creator!

Sort:  

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Let me know if you have any questions regarding the project or nomination. Hope to hear from you soon!

If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd to reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. Every day, three posts using this tag will be chosen by our curators to be resteemed. Good Luck!

This is really cool. You have a lot of talent.

Hi @porcupinerex213! :) Do you accept your nomination for possibly getting mentioned in OCD daily compilation with some extra rewards?

O.o he didn't reply but was nominated anyways?

@fabiyamada he upvoted the comment above :)

Like the mega man esk arm of the angel. Very cool painting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63564.17
ETH 3401.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45