Why I switched sides from Android to iPhone

in #android6 years ago

Funny story - back when the iPhone 4 was released, I wanted to buy one and start developing apps for it. I was in Hong Kong at the time, but surprisingly, couldn't find it on any of the numerous Apple store in the city. Turned out, that the entire supply was purchased by local vendors, who were shamelessly selling it for twice its original price.
So I gave it up, and got myself a Samsung galaxy 2. It was a great phone, and my Android era began.
I have used at least 5 different Android devices. The best one, by far, was my HTC m7, which outlasted all the rest. But last year came the turning point. I had a Samsung Galaxy S6, and I hated it. Its battery wasn't doing very well, it was a little sluggish, and its UI was horrible. At that time (at least in my opinion), there were no Android devices which provided the "full" experience. Each device tried to beat all the rest using one killer feature (best camera, best audio, best screen, best design), but none got it all. The iPhone has an amazing screen, and is beautifully designed. It's camera may not be the best out there, but it'll be tough to beat. Good quality sound, great screen, great hardware. One of the best purchases I've ever done.
But what finally got me, was how everything works so well together. The iPhone with my Macbook Pro (copy on my mac, paste on my iPhone. How cool is that?), the iPhone with my brand new Apple Watch (switched from the great HuaWei watch), the watch with my Mac, and everything with the AirPods (yeah, I know I'm a douche for wearing them...)

This ecosystem is unparalleled. Since there's nothing that binds Android devices to any other hardware (except, maybe, for devices built by the same manufacturer), they are very lacking in features - especially these little things that just make your life so much easier.

I don't like to think of myself as an "Apple fan". I will not stand in line to buy the newest iPhone, and won't buy it just because something just because it has the Apple logo on its back. But I do enjoy a series of devices that perform so well together, that I can't see myself going back to Android anytime soon.

Thank you for reading! Think I'm an idiot for ditching Android? Tell me in the comments!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71148.50
ETH 3780.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78