Rapid Fire Search Question - Can Android users use Facetime?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #android6 years ago (edited)

My rapid fire search title banner

Picture Source

facetime logo

Picture Source

Introduction

The direct answer to this question is no. Facetime is a feature that only Apple offers and Android phones cannot do this. However, there are alternative Android applications to use.

google_duo_google_play_logo.png

Picture Source

Google Duo

Google Duo is Google's closest answer to Facetime. This application lets you video chat with anybody else that has a supported Android device and a Google account. I have not personally used Google Duo.

facebook_messenger_google_play_logo.png

Picture Source

Facebook Messenger

Most people have probably heard of Facebook by now. Facebook is one of the giant social media networks on the internet. You can use Facebook Messenger on Android to chat by text, voice, and video calls. I have used this application to talk to family, and it works nicely.

skype_google_play_logo.png

Picture Source

Skype

Skype is one of the original internet or VOIP (Voice over IP) calling services that people could use. Microsoft bought Skype in 2011, and it is now a Microsoft service. Skype works OK on Android. I have not used it much personally as I do not prefer to use it.

discord_google_play_logo.png

Picture Source

Discord

Discord is a recently created video game-themed chat service. Discord offers voice chat and direct video chat with other Discord users. I have used Discord to chat with my friends often. The Android application works great.

Other Applications

Of course, they may still be other applications I cannot think these. These are the major video chat applications I imagine most people would use.

What option do I think is best?

I only have an Android phone. I personally use Discord the most as I use it to chat with friends. I occasionally use video chat on Discord. I mostly use Facebook Messenger though to chat with family, and I use video chat on there often.

Article Sources

  1. Apple for an explanation of Facetime.
  2. Google Play for application pictures and information.
  3. Wikipedia for research.

Thanks Hans for allowing complete reuse of the Flying Sparks Radio Red Yellow picture. I used it to make my rapid fire questions banner picture.

My picture for Steemit posts

My Other Online Writing

If you have a chance check out some of my other online writing. You can check out other posts on my Steemit blog or read one of my HubPages articles.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66703.61
ETH 3518.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68