Hello world

in #android7 years ago (edited)

Just decided to start creating content here. I was inspired by one of the videos by John Sonmez.

He insists that writing makes your thoughts more ordered. Furthermore he suggests that having your own blog should increase chances of getting a job. At first I thought to myself
"I really don't feel like creating my own blog just right now but I could make a habit of writing every day and eventually I would get to a point where I would be confident enough to do that" Then another thought followed: "Maybe I could start a Steem blog?" And here I am.

Because this is my first post I'll introduce myself and let you know in short what my content is going to be mainly about.

I am a science enthusiast/budding android programmer from Poland. So the major subject will be android development. I think many people might find intruiging fact that I am not enrolled on a university/polytechnic. Instead I've chosen to learn on my own, using the materials I've found on the Internet. It was like that until about a month ago, until I've enrolled into Google Android Developer Scholarship. I should immediately say here that I don't have any ties to Udacity and thus this blog shouldn't be treated as advertisement of program but rather as a lenghty review/honest account of what is it like being GADS student.

So what is it like? Well, at first, when I got past the first phase I was a little disappointed because it turned out that the content of the course was freely available before I started the challenge. So I wasn't getting anything new. -These were my first thoughts. I've changed my mind almost instantly when I realized that I am getting something much better than any kind of content. A community. - There are about 100 000 participants in the challenge and they're all incentivized to be helpful to each other.

It works like this: To the second phase will get only 1000, that is 1% of participants. This 1% will be chosen from among people that have completed the course & been most active and helpful to the other participants on the Slack/The scholarship forum. This creates an atmosphere where people virtually conted with each other in being helpful. It's so much better than Stackoverflow because people tend to be generally nicer and answer even basic questions without being rude/sarcastic. There is a general polite learning atmosphere within this community.

That's it for now, in the next post I'll probably be discussing my open source programming project https://github.com/Amunratis/PomodoroApp/issues

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64605.20
ETH 3168.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53