Is Steemit the solution to Facebook Ripoff?

in #android8 years ago (edited)

 The journey that led me to Steemit is an interesting one. I have always loved online marketing and have tried a lot of stuffs with modest success in some and outright failure in lots of others. From affiliate marketing to online publishing, adsense, Empower Network and Facebook marketing etc. Presently I work almost exclusively on Fiverr doing Webdesign, WordPress fix, and kindle stuffs. 

About two years ago, I stripped all my content from Facebook and placed them on my website. I felt millions of people like myself are being ripped off on Facebook. For every post you make on Facebook, you are making money for the social media platform because they place their ads on your post pages. It would have been fair enough if Facebook can give business post in Facebook Page decent exposure in exchange of placing ads. However, the answer in No. One is compelled to boost posts made in pages in order to reach the people your worked hard to get to like your page.  It’s a shame Facebook has made billions on all of us. 

1. You allowed Facebook to send an invite to everyone contact in your email list. Imagine how much you would have earned if Facebook were to pay you $10 for everyone who signed up to Facebook through you. 

2. The social media network now has mammoth content part of which you contributed. How much would you have earned if they pay you a percentage for every amount they earn from your posts. Better still make it a multi-tier program and pay you for the posts of your referrals. 

When I realized this, I stripped off all my post from my Facebook account and page and placed them on my website. However, I couldn’t get my site to rank in first page of the search engines but the feeling that I’m getting ripped off is gone. I felt a little at ease. Rather than make my posts on Facebook directly, I resort to sharing the content to my Facebook page. At least, it takes the reader to my website. 

Fast forward 2 years later comes Steemit! Steemit has brought a solution to my agitations with Facebook and offers much more. Is it possible that I have decent exposure for my content and at the same time get paid doing this? It looks good to be true. 

Here am I and this is my first post. In a couple of days, I will know if the next step is to stop posting on my website which is all about Android  and make Steemit the new home for my content.    

Sort:  

Interesting points you make there my friend. I'm in futurenet which is a platform just like facebook, but it's a place you can get paid. Facebook has missed a trick there, I think. I guess we spoilt them. Hope you enjoy working with steemit.

Its quite strange, I haven't heard of futurenet before now. I checked the site but could not get a full grasp of what its all about.

It's similar to Facebook, except that you get paid by taking simple actions, a revshare ad pack scheme and a matrix scheme. It has a whole suite of products. If you are interested, let me know and I will send you a link and some videos.

Congratulations @adedare! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67975.29
ETH 3240.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66