Anastasia Tremaine

in #anastasia7 years ago

I woke up and saw the same white ceiling, looked around to see the same white walls, lying on the same bed that I see every day, walking on the same wooden floor. "ANASTASIA, 10," it says on the space above my bed. Life in an orphanage is boring.

"Good morning, Anastasia," they plainly greeted me, "would you like some cereal?"

I nodded and ate my cereal. The other kids were there too, eating cereal. The ceiling was white. The walls were white. Everything was normal, the usual things I see every day. And then someone knocked the door; it was a tall lady with her hair up in a sleek bun, looking very fancy and carried a cane with her. She pointed at me. They called me out. After that, my life changed.

Lady Tremaine had adopted me. I no longer woke up seeing a plain white ceiling, and white walls, and a white bed which read "ANASTASIA, 10"above it. I woke up seeing a white ceiling with stars scattered everywhere, pink walls with portraits on them, a big pink bed, and a carpeted floor. I became Anastasia Tremaine.

Now, I am nineteen years old. My step sisters, Cinderella and Drizella, have their futures set; Cinderella will marry a prince, and Drizella is studying very hard to become a successful businesswoman. I, however, do not know what to do with my life. Lady Tremaine talks to me about my future sometimes, but I never thought about it much. It scares me when I think about the future.

One day, during biology class, I was staring outside the window and saw Philip. Philip was a simple baker. We talked, and talked every day after class, and we eventually fell in love. After a long time, we decided to get married, secretly. Oh, I almost forgot to mention William, my fiancé. We were arranged by Lady Tremaine and his mother to marry. The problem is that he "loved me, but I didn't love him.

When Philip and I got married, Drizella somehow found out and told Lady Tremaine. She was furious, so was William. They yelled and yelled. One day, I came home and saw my things all packed. I was forced to leave home. So, I tried to run to Philip, but by the time I got to his house, his body was on the floor, and William's knife, stained with Philip's blood, was in his chest. I cried a lot.

So I walked to forget about it and saw a woman crying.

"Why are you crying?" I asked her.

"I-I said the chant in the mirror a-and I saw... the devil!" she replied, showing Anastasia the cut on her hand, "I was so scared; I punched the mirror and cut my hand!"

"Oh my," Anastasia said, "Let me take you to the hospital!"

I walked with the girl to the hospital, and while she was getting treated, she talked about what happened to her, but with more details. I didn't believe her, though. I got reminded of Philip instead. So, I said that I'd leave. A few inches before I got to the door, I bumped into someone; a woman probably somewhere in her late twenties with a little girl, maybe about three years old, holding onto her hand.

"Oh, I'm sorry, ma'am," I said, "and sorry to you, too, little girl."

The little girl smiled and let go of her mother's hand, and held my index finger instead. She looked at my bags, and then at me and slowly asked, "Where are you going?"

"I'm going to look for a home," I warmly smiled, and she smiled back

"Oh, really?" her mother asked, "Would you like to stay with us? Are you employed?"

I shook my head and responded, "No ma'am, I'm not."

"Well, would you be interested in being our nanny? Maria seems to like you very much," she smiled

"Oh-I, um, sure," I stuttered

And so, I walked with Maria and her mother, who I now work for, to their house, which I now live under as well. I watch over and feed Maria whenever her mother or father left for work. She is a very sweet girl. After they hired me to be the housekeeper, I lived my life nicely, as if nothing bad has ever happened. I am happy.

Article Source: http://EzineArticles.com/9634716

Sort:  

This post has received a 0.52 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70272.86
ETH 3773.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82