You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The paradox of being “anti-capitalist” in a capitalist society

in #anarchy6 years ago

Nice post. I am no economist and not really sure whether or not I share your views (although as you said it does not really matter), however I work in the non-profit world and feel that many people in the for-profit corporate word can sometimes over-value themselves and undervalue people like myself. I would like to not care what others think but there is a self-serving cancer in our capitalistic system (I think capitalism could work if regulated – and it needs to be regulated due to the human tendency for greed) and these people are creating policies that are directly harming people like me. I am tired of being called “lazy”(ha) because my line of work contracts with the government. What I do is tough and takes a lot of work, and adds more value to the community than those who make money by shifting money around or creating and selling things that ultimately people do not need. I am also sick of people with political and economic philosophies that are viewed through the lens of male privilege…. It certainly does not sound like you are one of those people, I am just venting.

Sort:  

I have more than one stance and don’t fit very well into the political spectrum. A lot of my ideas about how society “should” function are quite far off, many things will have to change before that kind of a world can be conceived by enough people to make it a reality. I think revolutions are generally foolish and easily manipulated if they don’t fall apart themselves so regulated capitalism may be a more pragmatic way to move forward right now. We may disagree less than you think.

I know exactly what you mean about your line of work which is why I say the concept of “adding value” is completely relative. It’s pretty absurd that there are people who think that trading stock and playing with money is more valuable to society than helping others directly.

As for male privledge I don’t really like this word to describe it, but I empathize, there is still real problem of sexism that needs to be addressed. I’m not sure if it’s being addressed in the best way right now,but at least it’s being talked about. Know that you have more allies than you probably even realize.

Thanks, as always, for your thoughtful response. I suppose even trump supports would be surprised how much they have in common with many if not most liberals (and vice versa) but they are being misinformed and told something different. Although sexism is indeed an ongoing issue, when I say the word “male privilege” I am referring to something less accusatory/controversial. What I mean by this is that by being a male there are simply some things that men do not have to worry about that are quite frequently on a woman’s mind – things such as safety and the right to reproductive freedom (not being forced into motherhood).

I love traveling alone but there are some places I should not go – something my beloved male counterparts are able to experience. It is terrifying when I hear political leanings that feel that every man (I am sure they are not excluding women) should be the king (Queen) of their own castle. Some people with these leanings tend to not like laws/policies that are meant to keep people safe – or think that if these laws are removed things will “work out because most people are good”. Well, I disagree. As you say, we are not evolved enough and I have had many psychopathic clients. There are at least two communities in traumatized societies (One in Bulgaria and one in Kenya I believe - but don’t quote me) where the women, in order to live in peace and safety, had to ban men. That is not ideal (I like men) but that’s how they make it work.

I can appreciate the distinction between sexism and what you are referring to, the reason I don’t like the word “priveledge” is because the wording itself infers that someone has more than they deserve. I don’t believe most people who use the word believe that to be the case but they certainly cause misunderstandings with overly protective males (or whites) who could have been much more empathetic to their cause if it was expressed better.

If you disagree, that’s fine, I’m just putting it out there as someone who does understand that we still have a ways to go before it’s all good.

I also think it’s terrible that woman can’t travel as freely as men. I do know some pretty amazing women who hitchhike and camp on their own though. I know they have some added dangers and inconveniences though so I have crazy respect for them.

I may have unintentionally sounded a feminist dog whistle that makes people uncomfortable. I for one, however, greatly appreciated my white privilege last week when I was pulled over by the police in the southside of Chicago. This is especially true since I may or may not have had something that is still illegal in the state of Illinois in my trunk - Something that could’ve landed a brother in jail or dead. True story, but I’m trying to use humor here.

I need to be aware of the privilege that i have (but have not earned) based on the color of my skin because in my line of work I sometimes have the power to make decisions that can greatly impact others - whether it be good or bad. I think the world would be closer to our vision of what it should be if we dispel the myth of meritocracy. Embrace the fact that you can travel more freely, my friend, simply because you were born with a Y chromosome. It’s OK for males to appreciate such things without needing to feel guilty about it.

We ALL deserve better, starting with those who have it rough do to their gender, race or orientation. But none of us should need to earn that kind of respect and decency, the right to not fear for their lives. Be careful with what’s in your trunk :-P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66121.65
ETH 3564.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.14