You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Statism is the New Feudalism

in #anarchy7 years ago

Well reasoned and beautifully written. (I can see why you were at this until 4 AM!)

Have you heard any of Jordan Peterson's lectures? He's a university of Toronto professor who exploded on Youtube when he spoke out about state mandated speech - which was actually codified into law due to the matter of transgender pronouns. But IMO his work as a humanities teacher is much more interesting - he often talks about dominance hierarchies, not as a form of oppression but as a source of order and structure, and that we have to be extremely careful as soon as they're mandated by the state - or worse, pitched to us as "equality."

Sorry to ramble - tldr: I think he'd be right up your alley.

Sort:  

Yes! I've heard some of his lectures, and saw part of that interview recently where the "journalist" tried to skewer him with false accusations in the form of leading questions. That kind of piqued my curiosity, so I need to make time to listen to more of his lectures. He seems to be very conscientious about his philosophy, and that's rare these days.

I find him so fascinating to watch, because you can really see him thinking through his answers and putting them together.

There's also a fascinating lecture with Camille Paglia - two of my favorite thinkers in one room, wow.

I like her, too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60788.02
ETH 2632.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63