Letter of a former Solider

in #anarchy7 years ago (edited)

I originally posted this on FB, however, it was not well received. This has been a long journey and experience for me. Once I came to the realization that I willfully through my own ignorance, lack of wisdom, understanding and naivety was participating in the destruction of other people's lives, it almost broke me as a human and spiritual being. I hope this serves to deter the next coming generation of MOSTLY MEN away from the racket and deceit of war.

I know I am striking a nerve and that is ok. I really believe that truth is really needed for people.

This is my last Veterans day post I will ever make in my life.

I want to take time time out to apologize the men, women, children, businesses, and communities of Iraq, Afghanistan, Syria, Libya, Sudan, Nigeria, and other effected countries by the war on terror.

I am truly sorry I supported such actions. I am sorry I supported the invasions of your country. I am sorry that I have materially gained from the death of your children. I am sorry that I did not have the knowledge as a young man to understand what was really going on and how politics really worked. I am sorry that the occupation is still on going.

I did not know that the wars were started on false pretenses and that the war on terror is a hoax that has decimated the entire world.

I am sorry. I hope that you can forgive me for my past ignorance.

To my fellow veterans. Its time we really understand just what we truly are fighting for. Is our own personal financial gain really that important to where we have to go to war with another country? Is our personal retirement or compensation check worth more than a human life? Why are we warring with these people? Where did these terrorist come from? How did they get their money, their weapons...who is giving it to them? Why do we have to keep re-invading these countries? Are those medals we were given really that important? Are all those AAM's JSAM's, JCOM's ARCOM's, combat patches and deployment patch's really worth anything? What can they do for you if you ETS or retire from the military? How come these politicians who send us to war will never send their sons and daughters to fight on the front lines? Why should we fight if they do not have to fight? Why did these big contractors make billions of dollars but we only got paid a small amount of money? Why did these contractors get away with the death of some of the soldiers on projects they knew were faulty? Why are we in yet another war? Why?

Sort:  

People do the best they can with the knowledge they have at the time. I think that the individuals that serve, do so with generally the right intentions. However, it is disheartening to think that their commitment to their country can be undermined by special interests, for example the gain of banking or corporate interests.

I agree. Its sad that it was all a hoax...a big lie...and that it is still being perpetuated today. When I found out the real reasons for the war...it became hard to stay in the service. So I just decided to leave.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63035.00
ETH 3022.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82