You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I'm Against Age of Consent

in #anarchy6 years ago (edited)

First, I am in awe that you have attained the capacity to write so, given the circumstances in which you were enmired. You have clearly risen above your fetters and freed your mind from the constraints mercilessly applied to you. Kudos!

Second, much of my own youth was impacted by the same regulatory chattelhood you rail against here, although it was not my parents that imposed it, as they just ignored me as much as possible. My father once told me "You have a roof over your head, a shirt on your back, and food in your belly. My job is done."

I was extremely fortunate to live on an island in Alaska, where I could easily escape from societal impositions of control, although as we are entirely social creatures, such escape could be but temporary, and eventually my exasperated father tried to get me into a maximum security juvie situation, which I escaped through simply living in the wilderness.

As a parent that did try quite diligently to empower my kids to face a troubling world, I confess I did not always respect their autonomy, as there are situations in which it is unconscionable to simply allow a child to harm themselves, and that is also a slippery slope.

You can't let a child leap into a blazing fire because they are unaware of the consequences, and this can evolve into not letting kids do heroin, or prostitute themselves, for the same reason. Do you not feel there is, in addition to being able to desire and elucidate such desire by a child, a requirement to comprehend potential consequences, necessary to attaining sole agency?

I am deeply struck by your personal story, and will ponder your points for some time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55