You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Nonviolent Censorship is how Nonviolent Societies create Nonviolent Government

in #anarchy8 years ago

In my opinion, there is no reputation system on Steemit for people. There is only a content reputation system masquerading as a reputation system for people.

Sort:  

You are right. That will change going forward.

@dantheman Care to elaborate on that? In what ways will it change? Also where is the discussion on this change taking place?

we haven't discussed a new scoring algorithm yet, but we are looking into badges and verified accounts / identities.

We know the direction we want to go in, but haven't identified the specific proposals at this time.

Please let me know when you're having those discussions.
I know you don't owe me anything here.
But I'm willing to poke holes in the idea and help to find the best solutions, as I'm sure are many others.

In the meantime, I'm putting up a blog about this very topic, this evening.
I really hope you'll stop by.

Oh BTW while I have your attention, on July 31st you flagged someone, when I'm pretty sure you meant to flag the person who was responding to them.

Tuck and I are discussing it in his blog, but literally you're the only person with the power to fix them.. Poor guy is sitting at a -2 and seems to be doing his best, but none of us has the power to fix him.
https://steemit.com/censorship/@tuck-fheman/just-downvote-it-mute-it-and-walk-away-is-that-a-reasonable-solution

dan, I'm sure your ideas are better than mine after all this time and experience, but here is my idea.

-1) let users decide who to reward like the article says:
-2) reputation points to give per month is 7% of one’s total
-3) you could start everyone with their current score^3 / 1000, or whatever


My >>personal<< formula for giving reputation would be:

  • every time I vote, give 1% or divide points evenly from my monthly reputation points
  • with two votes, give 4%; three votes give 7%; then plus 2% for ever additional vote
  • for a Follow, count it like two votes
  • reserve 15% to give to all who my recipients vote for, using the above.
  • reserve 10% to give to all who my recipients vote for, using their personal formula.

Then my formula for viewing reputation is: over 99 units, do a bell curve. This means that those towards the middle are more spaced out numerically.

The only issue is things need to be cleaned out, giving sybil attack type accounts much lower reputation before beginning above process.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54441.42
ETH 2433.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.14