You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Should Anarchists Vote?

in #anarchy8 years ago

I have decided I will no longer vote. However, I have to admit as November gets closer I started to bounce back and forth as to whether to vote. I considered only voting on local issues and bonds. Or, as you mentioned, write in "None of the Above".

Recently, I read an article from FEE entitled "Reject the Violence of Voting". To summarize it, the author asks that by voting are we approving of the governments actions. That is I am allowing the initiation of force and violence on my behalf. This bothers me a lot. Am I participating in our government's atrocities, even if I vote against it? Is my active participation giving it credibility?

In my mind, the answer to the questions above are yes, by voting I am participating to something I think is wrong. I will not be voting. And I will continue to speak out against the wrongs government has perpetrated against humanity.

Sort:  

Is my active participation giving it credibility?

Well said. Those are my thoughts as well, but I also want to keep an open mind. We need a plan to go from here to there.

If small government/ anarchist minded individuals don't vote the government will get larger and unopposed. Yes the system is rigged and corrupt but its best to at least try and slow it down. Even more so when we have a candidate who laughs about killing foreign leaders, destroying Iran and picking fights with the Russians with literally no evidence.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64630.77
ETH 3189.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56