You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I just applied for citizenship to Liberland! Thoughts, Reservations, and Enthusiasm about the New "Free Republic" in Southeast Europe

in #anarchy7 years ago

I think my thoughts echo your own for the most part. It's a wonderful gesture and if everything works out it could really become something amazing, maybe even inspire the growth of more autonomous, voluntary regions.

But I'm often a pessimist regarding things of this nature. If something sounds too good to be true it's because it probably is. These attempts to free people from the violence of statist control never really seem to go anywhere.

That being said, I always hope the best for endeavours like this, I really would love to see something like Liberland succeed, and I might have to look into applying for citizenship myself.

I think my dream "state" would be a country that exists without the need for any sort of governing body or the need for a constitution. To quote Mitch Hedberg, "We don't need to bring ink and paper into this."

Oh, and yeah, that land fee does sound suspiciously like a tax.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57307.38
ETH 2434.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32