El Viaje a Acaculpo: The Ultimate Second Realm

in #anarchy6 years ago

Back in May/June of 2018, I decided to make a radical life change and strategically relocate to Austin, Texas from Central Illinois; I knew a couple of folks in the former and was leaving most of my family behind in the latter. I didn't do all of the necessary research for strategic relocation, so I was stunned when I arrived to see that the cost-of-living (especially rent/utilities) was far higher than where I came from.

Then, in early-mid October, I was made aware that I had to find a new place to live in ~3 weeks. I started looking around for people who had rooms for rent and at apartments, but it was largely to no avail; that, and I'd be paying similar costs for rent/utilities which almost drowned me before. No bueno.

One of my buddies reached out to me and presented a possible solution: Acapulco, Mexico. I'd been familiar with the major anarchist event and the expats here for a couple of years, but had never really considered it an option. I love the beach (but didn't have too many opportunities to see it), would love to learn how to sail, and have been searching for something different for the past year.

Let me just say, 82°F in November is one helluva change coming from Illinois.

Anyone who has followed my work also knows that I can't stand servile society jobs. It just doesn't really work for me, but my side hustles could not sustain me in the states...well, in Acapulco, they might be able to. 

It's worth making a note about this decision and it's effect on my invulnerability to coercion. The USSA is not a safe place for anyone, let alone an anarchist. In Acapulco, the bludgies leave you alone (for the most part), the locals are friendly, and things are more relaxed -- this place is certainly more #vonu.

So, all in all, this has been a great experience so far. I've only been here for 6 days, but still, I'm falling in love with it. It's just a vacation for now, but we'll have to see what happens. 

Please enjoy the pictures below and make sure to subscribe on Patreon to get access to my documentary, El Viaje a Acapulco! Also subscribe on YouTube to catch previous and future livestreams!

This is a picture from Tejas Camp in Liberty Hill, Texas. I tent-camped here for about 5/6 days prior to the road trip to Acapulco.

On the first day of the road trip, we decided to stay in Querétaro, just north of Mexico City. It has a few million people and this incredible view.

This is the view of our courtyard/front porch at the house in Bonfil (just down the road from Acapulco).

This and the next couple images are from a friend's house. They have a beautiful place up on the cliffs overlooking the ocean.

This is a picture of a favorite breakfast spot. They offer delicious, filling meals for less than $2.00.

This final pictures comes from the Dia De Muertos Party. Our expat-host has a beautiful place overlooking the bay and some of the city. Incredible.

Sort:  

I intend to split time living half a year in Mexico and half year in the USSA and Canada maybe starting next year. I love being outdoors camping and hiking and it is much easier to safely do in the USSA and Canada than in Mexico. I'd likely spend November through February and two summer months in Mexico. Acapulco is a great place to be with all the anarchist people now living there. That is the negative aspect of being in the USSA and Canada though. Seems Austin has a very large anarchist population too, but yeah, it's ridiculously expensive unless you stealth camp. I fortunately have a great place downtown where I can car camp and then Austin is pretty cheap and a cool place to hang in the fall, winter and spring for the most part. You are still going to purchase a van right and do some van nomading?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60063.85
ETH 2313.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46