You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Movies for Anarchists - Captain America: Civil War

in #anarchy7 years ago

they wanted to make clear It's just a super heroes movie and we don't have to take Its argument seriously.

I don't think I agree with this. It's true that we're most likely to see these themes in sci-fi, but I don't think that's done so that we won't notice the themes. I think it's done as a way to sneak the themes past a studio that otherwise might not want to tackle important social issues.

Sci-Fi has a long history of doing this. It's a great vehicle for getting these messages out there in a less-noticeable sort of way.

Sort:  

Ok, maybe this is more true. I guess it had never registered with me that as SciFi we shouldn't take it seriously.

To me SciFi are like Faery Tales or morality stories, like Aesop's Fables. Like Captain Jack Sparrow, being a drunk, pillaging pirate and one of the most moral, anarchistic people in the story.

BTW, several esoteric & magickal paths that I've studied often refer to wisdom and other occult knowledge as often hidden in plain sight.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57740.57
ETH 3127.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33