You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Compulsory Schooling is Child Imprisonment, Part 3

in #anarchy7 years ago

Great piece!! I honestly think all this testing and structure needs to be taken away. Power needs to be given back to the teachers to actually teach and not having to worry about getting the kids to pass some standardized tests. They need to let kids be able to explore their minds and creativity and express their thoughts and ideas. Our current system is hindering its students and pretty much setting them up for failure.

Sort:  

I fully agree to this and couldn't have said it better. I don't get why children so young have to be forced into such regimented structure let alone the testing they put them through. These tests are even responsible for funneling them based on how they performed...it's like the system is completely setting up kids to fail and not even seeing most children's' potential let alone taking any semblance of care in their own interests. I'm currently beginning to homeschool more my 5 year old instead of putting her into public school Kindergarten, after all I have learned so far this is the best I can do by her and I hope it serves us to keep doing it. There is only one type of school I had learned about that was child driven learning and unfortunately they are no where near me geographically and for some reason never "caught on" enough to be available widely in the U.S. Not saying it is perfect but it was the only one that was in the spirit of what I was seeking.

Totally agree. At that age kids should be pushed to explore their interests. Because at some point in time they will have to decide what they would like to do in life, only they're not going to know. I remember how much pressure there was nearing the end of high school and during to know what you wanted to do and where you wanted to go to school. And I honestly was so overwhelmed. I liked so many different things and never really got to to explore them so it was extremely difficult having to pick something. But if I was given that time to explore my possibilities I would have been better off. If a teacher sees a child doodling they should empower them not call it a disturbance and tell them to pay attention. They could be stifling the next Picaso or Van Gogh for all they know. I'm not close to having kids yet but it's something I'm already thinking about. I'm leaning towards charter schools at the moment, they seem like an alternative education system and focus more on the children and having them well rounded. Not just turning them into a computing zombie.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69390.09
ETH 3783.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83