You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Civil Conversation. Another Victim of Prohibition.

in #anarchy6 years ago

Something tells me nobody ever invites you to parties twice.

The full-on confrontation, the yelling and screaming and hysterics, isn't an effective way to change peoples' minds. They will crawl into their shell and hold on to their beliefs, no matter how mistaken, even tighter. Put your perspectives out there, sure, but in natural conversation, not when people just want some cake and ice cream. The others will come to you and ask you questions when they're ready to receive what you have to say.

Sort:  

So it’s all about when they’re ready to stop robbing me and condoning unjustified violence against me and my family? Don’t disturb them when they’re trying to have fun, that would be rude. If and when they make a new choice, that’ll be great, but until then just act like nothing’s happening for fear of offending and not getting invited back.

Is this how to handle a bully - wait until he comes around? Is this what you would do if they were literally mugging you at gunpoint every day? Doubtful. Is a mugging worse than condoning the state? Then why the laid-back approach? Why so patient with this particular injustice? Good question to ask ourselves.

Yes, don't defend yourself until they decide controlling you is no longer moral. har har /sarc

Confront them or cut them the fuck out of your life. I have no patience anymore for collectivists and control freaks. May they suffer under the hell their ideology is soon to bring to the entire planet.

I believe in giving them a chance to understand - one chance. When I first heard that government was slavery, I didn’t like the person who said it, and I didn’t know what the hell they were talking about. But I listened anyway. I continued until I understood so I could evaluate the claim for myself.

I give a fuck about truth. And I share your frustration about people who don’t. Willful ignorance is unacceptable - no man is an island and you owe it to humanity to get your head out of your ass because what you think and do affects others. Patience is pacifism when you’re under attack, and pacifism (ironically) is a pro-violence position.

I couldn't agree more and very well stated, friend. Thank you!

So it’s all about when they’re ready to stop robbing me and condoning unjustified violence against me and my family?

Your friends and family are not robbing you. They condone unjustified violence against you, but then again, they condone it against themselves, and of course they don't see it that way yet. Changing their mind is your goal, but anger and spite at them personally is not an effective way to do so.

Well they’re condoning that coercion for the purpose of forcing their own will upon me. They want me to pay for stuff they deem valuable, or they want to take guns and substances out of my hands. It’s not just about roads.

But I absolutely agree that it’s not the best way to change their mind, but it is justice. I may be better able to stop a mugger by offering him sexual favors, but efficacy is not the only concern. He doesn't deserve to be appeased - he deserves to be lambasted, and even physically put down, even if that course of action leaves me worse off than when I started.

It raises the question of utilitarian vs categorical morality, and practicality vs justice. We must be careful about forsaking the latter for the former in both of these instances, as it’s a slippery slope indeed.

We’ve got “anarchists” voting for Trump... things can get murky when we’re trying to figure out what works rather than what’s right. Ends and means - you get the idea.

This is true as far as I can see it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68348.76
ETH 2644.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69