Renouncing My Citizenship

in #anarchy6 years ago

It's not as easy as just burning the book and never looking back.

burning-uspassport460.jpg

The American government has actually made it quite difficult for their tax cows to leave. And why wouldn't they?

Since 2010 they have required us to pay taxes even if we live overseas. They are one of only two countries in the entire world with such chains on their people.

Not only that but the revenue "service" can revoke your passport if they think you owe them over $50k!

I've been thinking a lot about this today as I filed a w9 for the first time in nearly a decade.

So if I want to renounce my citizenship I have to jump through some hoops.

maxresdefault.jpg

One: pay the fuckers whatever they think I owe them.

Two: pay them an additional $2300 for the renunciation "service".

Three: find a friendly country that will take me.

Four: go through the process which could take up to six months

Five: never look back.

So, it won't be tomorrow but I'm going through with it. There's really isn't anything here for me now. I've come to hate nearly everything about this country. Even Chick-fil-A is off limits since they hate gay people.

The weed is good but good weed is coming up everywhere. I bought high grade hash with sbd in Peru this year for Christ's sakes and a gourmet hotdog from @intrepidsurfer taboot.

Everything is possible but I only see hatred and anger everywhere I look here these days and frankly I've had enough of it.

Have any of you ever left your home country for good? I know @silverlining1 is a man without a country but I don't think he intended that hahahaha

Sort:  

eager to hear more about this journey @naturowlmystic. I am on a similar path myself

I know you are friend. I've gotten into the habit lately of sharing all my deepest shit here on steemit. I don't even care about payouts anymore lol.... Of course steem is only at $1 so I don't expect I'll ever get rich with it. But damn I have met some cool people like you which is worth way more than money anyway!

I'd love to hear the followup post on this topic. It's something I contemplate a lot. I'm not living in the US, haven't been for six years and I like you, feel there isn't enough there for me... you know, things like basic human decency. Good luck!

Decency does seem to be in short supply as of late.....

So I have a ton on my plate at the moment but I am exploring several options. Money is my primary focus as I have no desire to fund endless war or a police state, or pay taxes of any sort to any government. So I am looking at incorporating myself somewhere I can hide my dollars, as well as ways to operate more efficiently in real world applications with cryptocurrency as that will likely become the norm before long.

Out of curiosity where are you in the world? 6 years! You're running out of passport time I bet, Hey? What are your plans?

I'm in Japan. Life gives you feedback based on your actions. I'm surprised I ended up in Japan, I don't quite understand it, but it is a privileged place from which to watch America's mutations. I hear you on the American police state. Keep me posted on your moves!

Wow! I bet Japan is like another planet. What do the people there think of what's happening here in regards to the president? Or do they even care at all?

Or you could just do what's right, because you're not a slave, you're a natural human person. Leave the country, never look back. To hell with their stupid rules. There are a million places you can go and be much happier.

The only control they have over you is the control you submissively give to them. It's up to you what you want to do with your life, it's not some overpaid useless corrupt politician's choice.

If more people would just stand up and take their power back, eventually those bastards wouldn't have any left. End rant.

Take care @naturowlmystic. #PowerToThePeople

And yes, I left the USA for good. Got my passport and left the next day.

Bro! I couldn't agree more! My only concern is freedom of movement. How can I cross borders without a passport? I get itchy feet all the time and honestly I want to see it all one day. Fuck. There has to be a better way.

I got a passport simply because I was able, but there are plenty of ways to cross the border. One tip I was given by an old hippie neighbor of mine in Hawai'i is to frequent the captain's bars near the ocean.

There's a good chance a guy like yourself could land a sweet job scrubbing floors or making food for a ride in a ship across the ocean to a much more lax country. The main thing is you'd have to get out and meet people (I know it's a scary idea) but it's your best bet honestly.

Refugees enter America EVERY DAY from countries all over the world. Little do they know, it's a terrible idea, but to some of them it is actually considerably better once they're there. More specifically, I mean it's better for some of them, and by better I mean a lot better than the average citizen will ever have it. Not everyone is so lucky, though.

The point I'm getting at is that if people can get in the country, you can surely leave it. If I had to find a different way out I would have, perhaps I may have to someday but I sure hope not! :D

Fair enough. Border hopping is fairly easy to be sure, Especially in South America where I spend the majority of my time. Lots to consider I suppose, and I rarely rush into anything.... By the way, is one of your alts named Pierre and a ridiculous pencil artist?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64076.80
ETH 3516.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64