You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Therapeutic Activism: Unfucking the World. A Handbook on Calming Fear

in #anarchy8 years ago

Excellent, detailed resource, Sterlin. Thank you. I hope many read it all the way through.

I've thought about fear quite a bit and how much of it isn't real. We're not being chased by lions. We're not about to be eaten. Much of our fear response is simply a primitive lie we need to rise above as we look at reality and the actual probabilities in terms of experiencing harm.

What about the families of libertarians? What about the children?

I've had this conversation with my wife. It's a very real concern. If I ever become a threat to government, my family will be at risk, and we've talked about this. If this becomes more of a realistic probability, we'll most likely seriously consider moving elsewhere.

So far I haven't take the step of direct civil disobedience. I wonder sometimes, is that really needed? What if more people wake up mentally and let go of their belief in authority? Would the soldiers, lawyers, judges, politicians, bureaucrats, and the like simply... stop? Are the problems we face ones that require physical force and action or do they require mindfulness, examples of courage, reason, and logic, and clear communication of the truth of human liberty?

I'm still thinking all this through. At some points I feel the need to "do more" and at other points, I'm happy to have a business to run, a family to feed, and communication mechanisms to try and free others.

Sort:  

Excellent points, they mirror my feelings. Especially your last paragraph.

Thanks. I often say "just" talking about this stuff really is "doing" something because so much of the problem is in people's heads. As @larkenrose talks about often, it's just the myth of authority that needs to be removed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59056.49
ETH 2597.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44