You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Voluntaryism: Do the Ends Justify the Means?

in #anarchy6 years ago

Thanks, Larken. That discussion sounds great. I look forward to hearing it.

I don't think it's blind hope to imagine he'll ramp up the messaging about freedom once he gets put into a position to do so. He's been doing that consistently for over a decade. IMO, it would be irrational to imagine him doing anything else. I don't think his campaign platform was written for you or me. I think it was written for Libertarian statists who just might be ready to accept what they've been doing this whole time hasn't worked at all.

He'd have no chance of getting the Libertarian nomination with a message of pure anarchy. I just don't think there are enough people (yet) who are ready for that within that group. I hope he gets the nomination and someone like Stossel does another Libertarian debate. Adam (or you or pretty much any fully-principled voluntaryist who can communicate well) would dominate that debate and spread voluntarist ideas far and wide through that platform. That would be really helpful, just as Ron Paul's messages were.

I get why you and many others don't like the approach, but I do think it's a strategic play, and I agree with Jeff Berwick's opinion that we should be up for trying all kinds of approaches.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64447.43
ETH 3163.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56