You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A practical problem for the Anarchist and New Age Voluntarists (and any other starry-eyed idealist). (featuring @vuyusile as author)

in #anarchy8 years ago

The rich are bad, and the poor are good; is a far too common excuse for the need of government.

How do they protect themselves now?

Sort:  

By not having things to steal. Other than that, gang affiliations provide some feelings of security in the roughest areas.

I don't think the Rich are bad and the poor are good. I also agree the poor don't have great ways to protect themselves now either. I don't see how private security will do a better job for the poor than a functional state government.

If you think government does a better job than private security, then you must think private security bad when compared to government. So if security does worse of a job as a private organization than as a public government, what market sector would do a better job than government?

Let me put it to you this way; A private security car following me from work to the rest stop where I sleep, is a lot less threatening than a government car of any kind.

I'm not saying private security isn't effective for the person hiring the security firm. My point s that I don't think private security will help those who don't have the funds to hire them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57173.66
ETH 3067.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39