"Why Don't People Care?!?"

in #anarchy6 years ago (edited)

As much as you or I may think that everyone neeeeeeeds to be interested in, think about, and know about, political philosophy, the truth is that people shouldn't have to know or care about it. I look forward to the day when no one has to waste time pondering authoritarian mythology, and can just live their lives in peace, pursuing their own goals and interests without delusional thugs of the state continually trying to rob them and forcibly interfere.

I sympathize if you're frustrated that so few people seem to want to learn about voluntaryism. Then again, they don't know what they don't know. Most people just assume that "politics" is beyond their understanding: some mysterious, shady but inevitable thing that happens. They know the game is run by--or at least corrupted by--liars and crooks. But they don't understand exactly how it works, and don't see any way out. So they mostly ignore it, and hope "government" doesn't give them too much trouble.

By analogy, in an ideal world, people shouldn't need to have an in-depth understanding of cancer in order to not die from it. And in an ideal world, people shouldn't need to have an in-depth understanding of political philosophy in order to not be victimized by it. However, since we don't yet live in that ideal world, the challenge is to find a way to make all the "normal" people pay attention, and care, and understand.

And that is one of the miracles that I think my project, "The Mirror," will actually accomplish.


https://www.patreon.com/user?u=347021

(click the above link to learn more)

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

P.S. For quite a while I was working on "The Mirror" full time, due to the very generous support of a few people. I now work on it as much and as often as I can, based on how much support I have to do so. I need to start sending regular progress updates to those who support the project. But if you don't yet support it--a dollar a month will do--then my answer to "How is it going?" might be a somewhat rude, "It's going a tiny bit slower than if you were supporting the project." :)

P.P.S. To those who can't, or don't want to, use the Patreon system to support the project, you can also support it directly via PayPal (by sending to "[email protected]") or by Bitcoin (by sending to 1LdCiMJVjcy1X5p3g65eUaRFBiR2KsV6fe).

Sort:  

interesting read. I feel that apathy is a result of a continuous feeling of powerlessness brought about by the unawareness that our most important power as humans is our ability to control our actions, and part of those actions are our thoughts which lead to language and expression.

most of these negative human conditons can be quickly altered by practicing small habits such as directing the focus on our breath

i do agree though that there is a level of nueorology involved that is difficult to bypass

I agree, very often people don't care simply because they don't have power to change it. It's an not ending circle, because only a few percent of people in the world has power to change anything - so the better question is why they don't care?

They don't know how to care, still it isn't an excuse. Cultural illiteracy is the problem of our age. Give them the info that destroys their personal paradigm, that's my kinda anarchy!

@larkenrose and everyone... I'm just writing article about why people don't care on example of homeless man. I could choose any other example, but homeless man is let say typical example of people not caring about other people. Article is almost over. I tried to go much deeper I could, but not to make article in book.

P.S. @larkenrose I just had interesting thought... Is there any way to translate "The mirror" project into other languages, so we can help people all over the planet? If yes, I'm very interested about translating it to croatian language. (If it is not already done)

I look forward to reading your article. I think people don't care about homeless people because they are afraid they might have to take them home. I had this experience myself - in which a homeless guy asked me for help and in an 8 month period I became his friend and ended up giving him the keys to my car so he could sleep in my car because I was renting a room in a house where people were totally not interested in helping him and then in the end he and I got an apartment together in VA housing for formerly homeless vets -but most people are set in their ways and don't want to be inconvenienced so they instead have to hate the homeless person... just like they have to abuse animals that are being raised for slaughter - they haven't confronted their fear of death or their ideas about killing other living beings for food- so if they abuse the animal or think the animal is stupid they can get away with killing it.

This answers to a many times asked question:
"Why do you care about such things ?"
"I care because you still don't care about caring"

The vision you have, the ideal world, I like it.

Keep on inspiring! Each moment we're growing wiser!

Do you have the project on github?

Never heard of it. So I guess the answer is "no."

Is it a software development project? The video on the patreon page and some of the wording, eg:

on any device with internet access. It will contain no advertising, and will cost nothing for the users.

led me to believe you're making a game or some kind of app. If not, some clarification might help.

Well, it functions and looks sort of like a virtual reality game, but it's not programmed at all the same way. Too much to explain at the moment. Maybe I will explain here later.

Yes. (Well, if I was being an annoying literalist, I would say, "No, that's a web site, not a person." But it is mine.)

Just curious :p. I'd definitely be interested in hearing more about your development.

I will support all I can toward "The Mirror" project @larkenrose Another reason I like the Steemit platform, we can actually help projects such as this. Look forward to the final product. I know it will be great. Steem on!
Let peace be the journey,
@vickiebarker

should be, we should care about any circumstances around us

I just checked out your site, clicked on the first video... "It Can't Happen Here", but the video is no longer available,censorship on "Used to be Tube"???
Anyway I am going to watch some of your videos, I did watch the one about cops and your statements.
Knowledge is power, and dumbing down society is how they accomplished to divide and conquer the people.
But there are a LOT of website and people such as yourself putting out the information to educate those who are willing to know, if one seeks knowledge one shall find it.
I will try to keep a lookout for your project to understand it better, thanks for your support to the re-education that is so instrumental in taking back our freedoms and our countries, whether it be here in the US or abroad, governments have hijacked this world, it didn't happen over night and we wont get it back over night, but we can get it back.

This link still seems to work:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70455.47
ETH 3561.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71