You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Strongest Evidence That Anarchy Works

in #anarchy7 years ago

I just don't see in most people the required level of maturity and consciousness for such a reality to be able to function in a peaceful and prosperous way.

but they have the skill to elect competent people? Doesn't add up man

Basically by the time you ended your comment you disagreed with your first premise.

Sort:  

You are partially right, but my argument was not specifically in favor of current governance systems. Actuality, what I was trying to point out was that the same widespread personal attitudes and states of mind that undermine the performance of a representative democracy would also undermine a strictly anarchist social organization. I would probably only point out to the differences in the kinds of expectations regarding freedom, security and access that you could develop within the two forms of organization. I can image very dire scenarios in an anarchist society with a majority of unconscientious people.

I would not focus on further disrupting the system of government, but rather on raising awareness and participation among the general public in all political and social affairs. Your article has this dimension, and that is why I like it and find it useful and insightful.

Actuality, what I was trying to point out was that the same widespread personal attitudes and states of mind that undermine the performance of a representative democracy would also undermine a strictly anarchist social organization.

agreed

I can image very dire scenarios in an anarchist society with a majority of unconscientious people.

we can do the same for democratic systems...

I would not focus on further disrupting the system of government, but rather on raising awareness and participation among the general public in all political and social affairs. Your article has this dimension, and that is why I like it and find it useful and insightful.

Yeap, the point I wanted to make was that anarchy works because the rules act on it. nothing will really change if more people acted on it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62900.77
ETH 2949.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59