Crowdsourcing Clarity, Ep. 02: Is there such a thing as a truly private crypto? (SBD TIP for most helpful answer!)

in #anarchy7 years ago (edited)

4290e9b334d8fc39bc0960a9c42fda95.jpg

Due to the success of the first installment of this blog series, and the information it helped me garner, I have decided to get back at it again with this, my latest query:

Is there a truly "dark" cryptocurrency?

Through my limited research in this area I am coming to the conclusion that there is likely nothing "unhackable" when it comes to government/state intervention. Cryptocurrencies are vulnerable, and not only does the state want a slice of all existing "pies" to be had, but also to keep tabs on the private financial transactions of anyone and everyone under the sun. Heck, I am just watching a video now making the claim that even the Tor browser really isn't all that secure.

None of this surprises me, really, but I am nevertheless interested in hearing about what you guys think are the darkest, most private and secure cryptos out there today.

Let me know and I will send a small tip in Steem Backed Dollars to the most helpful comment!

(In case you missed it, you can check out the first episode of the "Crowdsourcing Clarity" series here.)

~KafkA

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

Monero and other cryptonote-based coins are fundamentally different from bitcoin at the code level, and designed to scale the level of anonymity available in transactions according to the number of users. It really is the next level for true anonymity.

Thanks, @jacobtothe. Small Steem Dollar tip on its way. 💵

I have to agree that governments really don't like this whole "privacy" thing and since they have an almost unlimited budget to pursue it, they can find anything if they really want to.

Sometimes they can probably even find things that don't exist like WMDs.

I even read something recently that said installing TOR on your computer is grounds for a search warrant

Really well said, and that wouldn't surprise me one bit if the search warrants were being issued on the grounds of Tor installations.

Why else, other than some nefarious activity, would someone want to encrypt their personal data and communications and shield them from their benevolent government? ;-)

Well, maybe for blacked out NFL games, but other than that.

I don't know! Late for the two-minutes' hate. Gotta go! Hail Big Brother!

great....resteem and upvote for you.....

I like this blog of yours
i wish to comment that about this i like the security in bytecoin but as you mention we never know maybe in the short future can also be hacked since humans we find something challenging and we go for it
so hackers love to hack and we can see all hacked lol
even government agencies has been hacked one in a while

DASH EXCL XMR ZE ZCL HUSH
all can do it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67633.57
ETH 2605.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71