A Difficult Question

in #anarchy6 years ago (edited)

que.jpg

Michael Malice posited a question* that I haven't found a clear answer. There is a very initial reaction by most people to assume an answer to this. A quick answer, but after that there is a slow digging through what is and isn't true about any answer.

The Question:
"Are some people better than others? "

There it is, simple but complex. In the many weeks of thinking about this my thought process produced a counter question:

By what measure?

So I can begin thinking about measures :

Morality
Intelligence
Heart
Behavior
Skill
Adaptability
Productive
Friendly
Interfacing

Using these measures I think it is true that some people are better than others according to certain measures. If it is overwhelmingly true it is somewhat abrasive to all that has been taught about people being equal. Maybe people are born somewhat equal into humanity as children, and maybe opportunity should be equal to those growing within our midst, beyond that it appears people diverge in different ways.

So my Steemit friends, how do you answer the question?

*not sure if the question was his originally or something he found from another source

Sort:  

Well, I think one of the best things about humanity and society is that everyone, fortunately, is that we are all different and maybe this does not make our lives boring; however, as you let it appear in your post, the fact of being able to evaluate which person is better, is so relative that it is impossible to define ... each person in his circle will have his version and evaluation of the others ... the most fearsome delinquent will have someone who considers him a good person ... definitely a it's question where the answers, I think they tend towards infinity. Greetings joesal.

Greetings!
I see things somewhat relative also, people are better and worse in mixed bag of variables. Makes for a interesting spectrum of humanity.

Its funny, I used to catch myself thinking,
"Well that guy has more money, but I'm younger and taller than him",
or, "Well that guy is taller and fitter, and younger, but I'm married, with kids, and he doesn't even have a girlfriend".
As if it's a big competition and any time someone's better than me somehow, there needs to be some way I'm 'beating' them.
What are the odds of that, though?
There are clearly lots of people who are more successful, gifted or accomplished in all of these measures, and any others I could imagine.
There are people who are simply better than me, across the board.
That's okay :)

When I think of anarchy this is one of the very positive aspects, that variations can be acknowledged and exist.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60654.57
ETH 2343.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48