You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: You Can't Beat Me Into Anarchy

in #anarchy8 years ago (edited)

I think a lot of the issues people have with anarchy are due to a false perception (promoted by Big Media) that anarchists promote mayhem & destruction not peace & cooperation. I prefer to use the word voluntaryism myself in order to reach more people... I admire those who are able to hit the issue head on so that more understand what anarchy truly means.

Sort:  

Yeah, that's the "Rogue" position I mention in my outline. And all-too-often even the most peaceful anarchists are portrayed this way by the media.
Voluntaryism certainly works, perhaps better in a lot of cases. I tend to worry less about terms and focus more about ideas. I think this is where meeting them where they are really comes to play. If they want to define the terms, I let them. I might offer an alternative, but my desire is more to help them think than to make sure they're following my definitions. If I can help them think about things differently, then I'm accomplishing the goal.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.16
ETH 3485.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50